Frozen “Hot” Chocolate Slush

Standard

1st off, the name of this recipe strikes my funny bone ~ but it really does a great job of describing the taste of these slushies. IT really does taste like a frozen hot chocolate! Just what you need on these HOT HOT days we are having! 2ndly, my plan was to share a recipe for bread today….no thanks. Not when my vehicle told me it hit 102* at least today! Nope, we needed something that would cool us off! So away with the plan (HARD for me…”the planner”……”the schedualer”, are you kidding, I know what I am going to eat for breakfast in 2 weeks, well KINDA kidding) and on to a recipe that is appropriate for today! My kids want this a lot in the summer!

 This recipe yields about 4-5 cups of slushy yumminess, so you may need to double ~ but I would make it in 2 separate batches UNLESS your blender is a really big one, mine is a 6 cupper. (This recipe is a the right amount for my 4 kids to each have a nice glassful (see above).)

Frozen “Hot” Chocolate Slush
1 c. milk
1 envelope instant hot cocoa mix
3 c. ice cubes
3 TB. instant pudding ~ vanilla or chocolate flavor
Put all in the blender and blend till slushy (I sometimes go heavier on the milk and ice cubes to really stretch the drink….then add another TB. of the pudding IF needed). Pour into glasses and serve. Enjoy…

I  am not sure where this recipe came from, one of those that has been in my collection for a while, sorry I wish I knew!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for this timely recipe! I can’t wait to make it for my kids as a pool treat. I will modify and make it with rice milk to make it dairy free, I’m sure it will be just as good. Thanks for sharing all these fun ideas!!!

    • I am glad it looks good to you! (I REALLY enjoy it!) I am also happy to hear that you can modify it to better fit your family! Be sure to let me know how it goes! 🙂

  2. I tried the recipe today for our family and we all enjoyed it very much! I plan on making it again in the future for an awesome mid-afternoon treat by the pool. Very refreshing:) Thanks!

  3. We made these tonight…even made a special run to the gas station to pick up milk, because I thought I had another gallon in the fridge but I was wrong! This got rave reviews from all my kids and my husband as well. I like that it’s chocolatey and refreshing, but healthier than a chocolate milkshake b/c there’s no ice cream. We’ll definitely be making it again! Oh, and i MIGHT have added a big dollop of whipped cream on the top of everyone’s glass…um, yeah, about it being healthy…

    • I LOVE the idea of a BIG dollop of whipped cream on top! I might go a step farther and add some chocolate shavings…..adding to the healthiness of it….OF COURSE! Thanks for the idea and GLAD you guys liked and really GLAD that it was worth a milk run! 🙂

    • HEY! IT is fine for your diet…..AT LEAST it is milk and not ice cream !! Milk it good for you….(lets just ignore the other sugary ingredients……deal??) Glad you enjoyed!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

