Warm Spinach Apple Salad

Standard

Aldi sales starting on July 5 ~ July 11. 

* A 5 oz. pkg. of Pepperoni Mini’s is on sale this week for $2.89, this would be a great topping for “Pizza Dip” OR “Grilled Pizza“.
* I LOVE the Tortilla Strips straight out of the bag  on salads, grab them quick though! They do not last that long, maybe we can start a petition to get them year round! Let’s add it to the petition to make the Honey Wheat Pretzel container BIGGER again OR slash the price a  bit more…oh….ANYWAYS. Those lovely salad toppers add a nice crunch to salads, a 3.5 oz. pkg. is $0.99.
*Yum, Sherbet and Ice Cream Bars are $1.99…..
* My BBQ lovin’ husband snagged about 4 jars of Burman’s BBQ Sauce last week, GREAT for grilling and dippin’ and at $0.89 I might just get a few more to hold us over for the summer. (He IS raising 4 BBQ lovin’ men too!)
* Wheat Kaiser Buns would be a delicious vehicle to hold your  Slow Cooked Chicken Caesar Sandwich.
* Tuscan Garden Marinades make for easy dinners, just marinade your meat and grill!
* Fresh Spinach is a staple in our house, grab a bag (9 oz.) for $1.69 and you can make “Hot Spinach Apple Salad” as a side for your grilled meat.

Generally speaking my kids need a little bribery to get them to eat their spinach, you know “eat your spinach to get big muscles like daddy” ~ boys and muscles…. That gets them to eat a few good bites, that is all I ask for. BUT a few bites of this salad and they go back for more! This salad frequents our table quite often, really throughout all 4 seasons. The kids tell me the best part is the  bacon and the sweet dressing ~ fine by me! They are still getting great nutrients from the spinach, try it out on your family, they just may just like it too!

* Looks like I used a green apple, feel free to use whatever kind of apple or onion that  your family likes or that you have on hand. That is the wonderful thing about cooking you can change things up as you want to and add or subtract some things according to your families tastes. I like to hear if you guys ever make and/or change things,  you will teach me and thing or 2 I am sure! 🙂

Hot Spinach Apple Salad 
6 bacon strips, diced (I usually use less, maybe 3-4)
1/4 c. cider vinegar
3 TB. brown sugar
9 c. fresh baby spinach
2 red apples, thinly sliced
3/4 c. red onion, chopped or sliced thin
In a skillet, cook the bacon till crisp. Remove and place on a paper towel to drain. SAVE 2 TB. of the bacon drippings, disguard the rest. Put the 2 TB. bacon drippings back in the skillet and add the cider vinegar and brown sugar. Bring to a boil and boil till sugar is dissolved. Cool slightly. In a large salad bowl, toss together the spinach, apples, onion and bacon. Drizzle the warm dressing over, toss to coat and serve immediately. Yum. Enjoy!

Recipe from a Taste of Home Magazine.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Tried this salad last night and really liked it! I accidentally boiled the dressing WAY too long..it poured nicely over the salad but once we ate it it was pretty much carmelized 🙂 Still tasted good, I really like the different flavors.

Leave a Reply

