Pizza Dough for Grill

Standard

This is a GREAT weekend meal (ment to get it to you Friday, sorry…), though I would happily make it ANY day of the week! 🙂 It is especially nice to have on a hot day/night when you really don’t want  your oven on. The crispiness from the crust in so so good. The 1st time I made this for us, we all thought it was AWESOME! It is a fun spin on pizza for the summer that we look forward to each year. It really is not hard, get your table all set and your “fixin’s and toppings” all prepared and waiting for you! Then you can just sit and “chill” on your deck or driveway or where ever your grill placement of choice is, and enjoy the evening with your family.

* The following is a dough that I came across long ago, not sure of the origin, but it is the dough I like to use on the grill ~ probably cause it is called “Pizza Dough for Grill”. So I think it is great and holds up to grill cooking well!

*Put whatever you want on your pizza, it is YOUR’S by the way! Go for the meat or the veggie or just cheese. Add veggies fresh from your garden OR shred last nights meat up and use it as a topping. Really you cannot mess it up. I almost always use mozzarella cheese and parmesan cheese. Oregano and garlic and my seasoning of choice. My favorite pizza is….drum roll please……fresh spinach, then cheeses, fresh tomato slices, then garlic and oregano and a pinch of salt. NOW….what is your favorite pizza toppings??? 🙂

Pizza Dough for Grill  
2 1/4 tsp. yeast
1 c. warm water
2 TB. corn meal
1 tsp. oil
1/2 tsp. salt
dash of sugar
2 1/2 – 2 3/4 c. flour
cornmeal (for sprinkling on the pans)
Dissolve the yeast in the water and allow to sit for 5 minutes. Then add the rest, adding enough flour till you have a hard time mixing it. Dump onto a floured counter and knead for 6 minutes, adding more flour as needed. Shape into 2 balls. Let them rest on the counter, covered with a towel, for 10 minutes. Turn on grill and heat to med-low, a bit heavier on the low side. Line 2 jelly roll pans with wax paper(I don’t use the wax  paper, but is may be a good idea…..) and sprinkle with the cornmeal. Now, think about the size of your grill, you want to roll these pizza’s so that they both fit comfortably on the grill. Lay the dough onto the prepared pans. Brush with oil and put on grill, carefully so as not to burn yourself….. (I usually fold the dough in half, lay one half down and flip the other half over…easier to do then describe, sorry, just let me know if I am making NO sense!) Close grill and wait about 4-7 minutes till nice and puffed and golden brown on the bottom ~ this will depend on your grills cooking temp and also how thick or thin your dough is. Now with your handy-dandy grill flipper, lift that dough off and flip, so the uncooked side in now down onto the cornmeal topped wax paper, if using wax paper, else just on your cornmeal lined tray. NOW. Top with your toppings. Return it to the grill, kinda just lifting and pushing it off. Cover again and let cook about the same amount of time as before, about 4-7 minutes, plus or minus, depending again on your grill’s heat and thickness of your dough. You are really just looking for a brown crispy bottom and melty cheese up on top. Take off grill, let set 5 minutes, cut and DIVE in! Enjoy!!!

Recipe source unknown, but well-loved!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. This pizza dough was great! It got nice and crispy and didn’t stick to the grill at all. I will definitely make this again

  2. This dough was sooo good! I was intimidated by it at first since I’ve never made any dough from scratch. I’m so glad I tried it!

    • I was so impressed by you both! THAT WAS so brave of you guys. IT WAS fabulous by the way. (Aaron actually said it was better then when I make it. No joke. PLUS I agree!!) Thanks for teaching me some new toppings….. looking forward to trying them myself!!

  3. Could I make this dough and freeze it? I’ve never made bread for the freezer, and really want to make this a LOT this summer…but have zero knowledge of freezing things.

    • I have froze bread/pizza dough before, but have not overly happy with it. It is one of those things that is one my “list” to work on, you know ~ figuring out when to freeze it (ex. before the 1st rise, after the 1st rise, etc.) If/when I get to that experimenting I will let you know!!! 🙂 BUT for the time being, maybe you can try this! I will often make my pizza dough the night before, or the morning I want to use it ~ then put it in a large bowl, cover the dough with a greased piece of plastic wrap AND also a tight fitting lid. Then chill the dough till you are ready to use! I have had it in the fridge for 2-3 days before and it was fine. Just be sure the dough is completely covered (the first day, you will have to check on it a few times as it will rise and bit and the lid may pop off), if it is not covered properly the dough will dry out. Then take it out of fridge, let set on counter for a little while (doesn’t need tooo long) and then roll out and wa-la! There is your dough waiting for you!! Hope this helps, sorry to not have better advice on freezing! GREEEEEAATT question! Thanks! 🙂

      • well that is very helpful as I have zero dough knowledge-how to make it, keep it, use it, etc. 🙂 I never made it from scratch until this recipe! And I’m surprised I can keep it in the fridge for a couple days. Thanks for the tips and if either of us get to this experiment we should definitely share notes 🙂

Leave a Reply

