Fiesta Corn Chip Dip

Standard

I love a recipe with a story. This one has just that. My friend, Cassie, would bring this Corn Dip to cookouts and I loved it every time she made it (3 times so far…who is counting, better question….who remembers that?? and why cannot I remember which way is north, east,south or west….?!) No joke, EVERY TIME she would bring it I would ask for the recipe. “It is easy” she says “you can remember” she says…I didn’t and I would it eat the next time and EXCLAIM ~ “I love this stuff!” and ask for the recipe. Vicious cycle. THEN (oh the excitement..) my friend Kathy and I were the only 2 people  in the world seemingly who were excited about an e-mail recipe exchange….no one really “played”  with us, so we shared recipes with each other (….oh Cassie “played” too and my grandma). She shared with me the recipe that she shared with someone from the recipe exchange, and it was a Corn Chip Dip MUCH like Cassie’s but a bit different, but now I had measurements/directions/ingredients on paper,  no more excuses. Set to make it that night. THEN I got a new cook book and GUESS what was in it…..? I know I KNOW!!! Fun. A Fiesta Corn Chip Dip…..fun, oh the giddiness I felt. WHICH recipe to use was the question. Could not choose so I picked a bit from each. My kids loved. Make a GREAT appetizer or a side dish to a Mexican meal. Enjoy and thanks to my friends for sharing their wonderful recipes with me, you KNOW I love it!!

* There are 2 options as far as serving this goes. You can sprinkle the top with Chili Cheese Fritos and eat it more like a “salad”. OR you can serve with tortilla chips or Frito (corn chip) scoops and scoop it up, that is more like a “dip”. We enjoy eat both ways!! Hope you do it.

*Mexicorn is delish in it. That is a can of corn, a little smaller than a regular can I think, that has red and green pepper chunks in it and maybe some other ingredients. If you do not want to dice up the peppers, go for a can of mexicorn. Either way is good!

* I do not really measure the chopped veggies, so the measurements may not be spot on. Do as much or as little as you like!

*Don’t forget to wear gloves when seeding your jalapeno…….

*If you do not have or want to use Greek yogurt, you can use 1/2 c. mayo instead of 1/4 c. mayo and 1/4 c. Greek yogurt.

Fiesta Corn Chip Dip  
2 cans of corn (15 oz. ish each), drain well
1/2 c. diced red or green peppers, or a combo of both
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped up small
diced red onion to taste
1/4 c. chopped black olives
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 c. sour cream
1/4 c. mayonnaise
1/4 c. Greek yogurt
1-2 TB. taco seasoning, opt. (I say optional BECAUSE Cassie added this and I did not know that, but will be trying it next time, it is good with or without!!)
Tortilla chips and/or Chili Cheese Fritos and/or Frito Scoops
Pour the drained corn into a bowl, add the chopped peppers, onion and olives. Toss to combine. Add the cheese, sour cream, mayo, Greek yogurt and taco seasoning. Stir to combine and chill. Serve with your chip of choice. (IF topping with Chili Cheese Fritos, so that JUST before serving or they will get soggy.)   Easy peasy. Enjoy!!

Recipe adapted from Cassie, Kathy and the cookbook “Tried and True Recipes”.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. HAH:) Ok, so mine is 2 cans WELL DRAINED (!!!) corn, 1/2 c red 1/2c green peppers, 1 sm can chopped blk olives, 1 sm onion chopped, 1/2 c mayo. mixed with 2 T (your choice Chili seasoning or taco seasoning (or 1 of ea!!) and 1 c shredded cheddar:)
    layer, or mix!:)
    from what ppl say….the chili fritos are the best FLAVOR, but the big SCOOP Fritos make for FULL BITES!:)

    • Looks like your’s is similar to “mine”….:)…I LOVE the idea of the taco seasoning mixed it….guess I missed that part the 3 times you repeated the recipe to me…! I WILL be doing that for sure next time! Thanks!! (oppss.. ment to have it be 2 cans corn, I will fix that!)

Leave a Reply

