Fruit Filled Ice Cream

Standard

Who SHOPS Aldi!?!?!? Let’s check out the sales this week…sorry for my tardiness. I took an unexpected vacation this week! Hey, it’s summer & it happens. Hope you are all enjoying your summer break as much as we are enjoying ours!

Sale runs from June 20 ~ to June 26, 2012.

So I had just a bit of trouble this week with the ad. A lot of “pre-made” things, which is great and easy for summer. But I cannot really give you a recipe that uses popsicles, can I?? (PS. They are $1.89 and look real cute for the 4th of July!) I can tell you about strawberry salads and guacamole AGAIN. But won’t. You’re welcome. You know you can find them in the recipe index.  SO I am going a different route this week. I am going to give you a recipe that uses ALL Aldi ingredients, I know this cause I just bought it ALL there this morning! I am also going to tell you about some “summer staples” that I will be grabbing this week at Aldi,  JUST in case you do not get an ad.  (Please note in the Recipe Index section, I am going to let you know of “Aldi Friendly” recipes, that means all ingredients can be found there! Might help someone with making a grocery list …. someday…someone.)

*Peaches, Plums and Nectarines. $0.29 each.
*Strawberries. $1.19 each 16 oz. container.
*Avocados. $0.59  each.
*Hot Dog & Hamburger Buns. $0.79 each.
*Frozen Chicken Breasts. $5.49 for a 48 oz. pkg.
*Sweet Baby Ray’s. $1.99 each.
*28 oz. can of baked beans. $1.19 each.
*Pickles GALORE! Prices range from $1.19 -$0.99 each.
*Ice Cream Cups. $0.99 for each 24 count pkg.

There are some of the things on my grocery list. Hope this helps you out! AND now for “Ice Cream Series Part 3” !!!! Good news, all ingredients can be found at Aldi! I hope you try this unique “healthy” ice cream. I so enjoy reading cookbooks, recipe magazines, etc. This recipe came from a cookbook that my Grandma keeps at the cottage, she knows I enjoy reading recipes. I read and re-read these books every year, each time finding something new ~ depending on my food mood for the minute.

This recipe is not a diffecult one and makes for a fun treat for the kids, as always, if you have questions never hestitate to ask. Feel free to sub in or out fruit you may or may not like.  I have done with all strawberries and have also added peaches. Oh, and the chocolate fan in me DOES drizzle with chocolate and/or mini chocolate chips!

Fruit Filled Ice Cream   
3/4 c. powdered sugar
1 (8 oz.) pkg. cream cheese, softened, I used the Fit & Active one
10 oz. fresh strawberries
1 lg. can pineapple chunks, drain please
2 bananas, I used one
2-8 oz. whipped toppings, thawed, I used the Fit & Active one
Chop the fruit all up into smallish pieces, they will get smaller when beaten with the mixer too. Set aside. In a mixer, beat the cream cheese and powdered sugar till smooth. Add the fruit, can either stir till just combined OR cover yourself  the mixer with a light towel to catch any flying yumminess and turn the mixer on to med/high and mix till fruit is the chunkiness you want. Please proceed with caution, I found myself in a bit of a cream cheese fruit spray. No worries, worth the mess…..Fold in 1 whole whipped topping and half of the other (total of 12 oz.)(Save the rest to dip your extra strawberries in!). Put the whole bowl into the freezer and leave alone for about 1/2 hour, stir, leave alone and stir, repeat  for about 2 hours. Then put into a freezer safe container and enjoy. This is softer the first day, but by the next day it is harder ~ just let set on counter a few minutes before dishing out. I hope you enjoy this “steamy hot day” treat! Enjoy!

Recipe from a South Holland School PTA Cookbook.

Recipe linked to Six Sisters’ Stuff.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

3 responses »

  1. Yum! We always have homemade ice cream on the 4th of July, and this would be a perfect one for this year! Thanks for linking up to “Strut Your Stuff Saturday!” We hope to see you next week! -The Sisters

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • THANKS for reading and enjoying my blog!! I really am not very good with the computer, to be honest, and know NOTHING about tweeting! Sorry!!!

Leave a Reply

