Grilled Veggies & “Joel’s Marinated Chicken”

Standard

Well, being the master griller I am (insert sarcasm here)….I cannot even go on with that. Starting over. Being the “nervous nelly” griller that I am, I like to have things easy when  am doing the grilling…saving the difficult stuff for my husband.  He seems to nail it on the head every time and bring in perfectly cooked meat, while I bring in my steaming black hockey pucks. So in the constant effort to become a better griller, I spotted this grill wok thing and thought, “now that might help me”. It was a great Memorial Day weekend buy and has been used A LOT with much success EVEN with me at the grill!

* If you do not have a fancy dancy wok, no problem. I have been making these for years in a foil pan and only weeks in “the wok”,  just poke a few holes in the bottom of your foil pan and away we go.

*Not sure if this is considered a recipe, but here goes. Feel free to use whatever veggies you want to use and let me know what veggies you end up trying….I could use some ideas too! OH and go for whatever spices you like, we like oregano, italian seasoning, garlic herb or a citrus blend ~ again, I would love to hear about your spice choices!

Grilled Veggies    
2-3 small zucchini, sliced
1 green pepper, chunked up
1/2 onion, chunked up
2 Roma tomatoes, chunked
olive oil
seasoned salt
parmesan cheese
Heat grill to low. Put veggies in a bowl and toss with oil, sprinkle with seasoned salt. Pour into foil pan or wok. (Do this over the sink so the oil does not go on your floor, then put bowl or plate under foil pan or wok. Leave this bowl or plate by grill to carry your foil pan or wok back into the house. Just trying to save you some steps….) Put lid down and cook nice and slowly, it will take about 30-45 minutes depending on your grills cookability and your ideal cookedness.  Be sure to stir a few times, adding the tomatoes about midway through the cooking. Top with some Parmesan cheese and away we go. Enjoy.

Here is a deliciously easy recipe for grilled chicken, the marinade is fantastic and leftovers make great wraps or salads. I did not change a THING in the recipe so I am going to send you right to my friend Lisa’s blog called Cooking Up a Sale for the recipe for “Joel’s Marinated Chicken“. She has great tips, probably  more thorough than I would give you! (After comparing our pictures, I am thinking that I should have doubled the marinade, mine looks “paler” than hers. Even so, it still tasted delish!) Enjoy and thanks Lisa for sharing a great recipe that we will  use often!

2 responses »

  1. I just put together the famous chicken recipe for a belated Father’s Day get-together. I did not have breasts in the house so I used drumsticks. I am excited to see how good it is. Thanks for the recipe Bobbi!

Leave a Reply

