Croissants

Standard

Croissants are not really something most of us have in our house all the time, for me croissants were usually eaten only at wedding/baby showers. Well. They are a bit pricey to buy and I think that is why we so rarely buy them! Not any more! They can be made in your own home! NO joke! (They are not the healthiest of breads….so I don’t make it often, but once in a while..yum!)

This recipe came from an old Hitachi Bread Machine cookbook, the picture did not look appealing to me….you know those “old-fashioned” pictures of food were the food looks overly shining or something…anyways, I finally got around to trying it and YUM! Glad I did! It WILL take some time, so just do it when you know you will be in your house and set the timer. Really not a difficult recipe. Don’t stress too much about folding and rolling perfectly, really the point it just to get thin thin layers of butter throughout the dough to give you those flakey layers!

Croissants  
3/4 c. water
2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
2 TB. sugar
2 TB. butter
1 TB. dry milk
2 tsp. yeast
3/4 c. chilled butter
2 eggs, beaten
1 TB. water
Layer ingredients as listed in bread machine, set to the dough cycle. When it is done, take out and put on counter,  squeeze the dough to release any gas bubbles. Put dough in a bowl covered with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 30 minutes. Roll into a 8″ x 12″ rectangle, put butter on 1/2 of the dough (the long ways half). Fold the unbuttered part  over the buttered part. Seal the edges. Stick a skewer in the dough to once again release the gases……Wrap in plastic wrap and chill in fridge for 1 hour. Roll into a rectangle again and again fold in third’s. Wrap and chill for another 20 minutes. REPEAT 2 more times. Roll the dough to an 8″ x 18″ rectangle, cut in half (long ways), then cut each 4″ x 18″ rectangle diagonally into 6 equal triangles. Roll up each triangle, starting with the end opposite the point. Place on greased baking sheet and spritz lightly with water. Cover lightly with a towel or plastic wrap and let rise 30-50 minutes till doubled. Brush the beaten egg + water mixture over top of rolls. Bake @ 390* for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Enjoy! 🙂

Recipe from a Hitachi bread machine cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. I remember doing what was called a ‘butter block’ with a danish braid I made way back in 2008 with the Daring Bakers. Turned out delicious, just like this technique. Thanks for sharing this recipe for croissants, can’t wait to try it b/c there is nothing better than some homemade chicken salad on a croissant!

Leave a Reply

