Quick BBQ Pork Sandwiches & Crunchy Ice Cream Balls (Ice Cream Series Part 2)

Standard

The Aldi paper makes me giddy…..
Sale prices are good from June 6 ~ June 12.

* Millville Corn Flakes Cereal is $1.49 for an 18 oz. box. This was a treat I made for Cinco de Mayo…just took me a few to many weeks to post, doesn’t mean you cannot STILL enjoy it.
* Hormel Fresh Boneless Pork Roast is $1.59 per lb. I have included a recipe for Quick BBQ Pork Sandwiches.
* Strawberries $0.99 each. Enjoy Strawberry Lettuce Salad!
* Happy Farms Pepper Jack Cheese Block, they are $1.79 each. I like to have this on hand and give a kick to things like…..Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip and any other time you want a kick of heat!

Here is the much anticipated 😉 second installment of a sensational ice cream series!! (Try to resist the urge to jump, leap and squeal with joy..you may hurt your computer or wake up your kids!!) Cinco de Mayo, was a few weeks ago and we wanted to have a little fun with it and make some Mexican treats. Pico de Gallo, guacamole, a couple of salads with cilantro AND last but not least…..”fried” ice cream balls. Didn’t want to literally fry them….though that sounded GREAT ~ I went with good ol’ fashioned corn flakes. We had enough left over to eat with the kids the next day too and they still had a crunch to them!  I served these with caramel sauce and peanut butter sauce, chocolate sauce would be good too.

Crunchy Ice Cream Balls   
2 c. finely crushed corn flakes
3 TB. melted butter
2 TB. sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
vanilla ice cream
Use an ice cream scoop to scoop out the ice cream and place on wax paper lined cookie sheet. (I used the box of vanilla ice cream from Aldi, not sure what the ounce is…sorry….it yeilded about 16 scoopsish.) Pop in freezer for about 20-30 minutes. Mix the crumble topping all together, set aside. Take out ice cream and form into nice balls. Roll in the topping, it helps if the balls are slightly melty….by slightly, I mean slightly ~ if they are too hard, the coating will not stick. Cover with a nice coating and put back on wax paper. Freeze till ready to serve.  Enjoy.

Love sandwich meals in the summer, they are usually quick to put together and easy to clean up…. This one I make a lot.

*I usually make this with leftover pork from a pork roast. This time though I cooked a roast overnight and in the morning shredded and THEN put it back in the crock pot with the BBQ sauce and let it cook in the crock pot on low for about 6-7 hours. (No need to simmer the sauce 1st to thicken.) It worked well and BONUS, had enough to freeze for another meal! Love it!

* I really am not good at measuring the ingredients for this, I usually just eye-ball, makes for a little bit of a different turn out every time. Add more sugar if you like it sweeter, more mustard for a kick, etc. Whatever your family likes!

Quick BBQ Pork Sandwiches  
1/4 c. sugar
4 tsp. cornstarch
1 1/2 tsp. dry minced onion
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
 1 1/2 c. ketchup
3/4 c. water
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
1/4 c. butter
3 TB. Worcestershire sauce
2 TB. lemon juice
1 TB. mustard
1 1/2 lb. (about 3 c. or so) cooked shredded pork
Combine all but the pork in a large pan. Simmer till thickened. Add the roast and serve on buns.

Recipe from Taste of Home.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

5 responses »

  1. Shoot…I just put leftover pork roast in the freezer with Sweet Baby Ray’s….wish I had waited one day to make my BBQ pork sandwiches….yours look fabulous.

Leave a Reply

