Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Standard

Bread is something I make weekly, daily even at times….my bread machine gets quite a workout, so do my arms when I do it the “old-fashioned” way! Not much to say about this, but yum.

* I have gone through a few bread machines, too loved and used I guess!! Well, one  “jumped” off the counter ~ let us remember to ALWAYS push the machine as far back on the counter as we can! That is one of the best bread machine tips hints and/or tricks I can give you!!!

* I like to brush the dough with a beaten egg white instead of butter, seems to hold the swirls together better, but you may certainly use the butter IF you prefer!

* I prefer to double the cinnamon/sugar mixture for the swirl……… forgot to mention that I also add raisins, as you can see. Just a handful or two will do!!

*When I REMEMBER to put the glaze on top, this bread is very close to the Cinnamon Swirl bread from the old Village Bakery, that was a wonderful treat when we had it!!

Cinnamon Swirl Bread 
1 c. warm milk
1/4 c. warm water
2 eggs
1/4 c. soft butter
1 tsp. salt
1/4 c. sugar
5 c. bread flour
2 1/4 tsp. yeast
Filling: 
2 TB. butter (I use an egg white)
1/3 c. sugar
1 TB. cinnamon  
1/2 c. or so of raisins (opt.)
Glaze: 
(oppss. forgot this time!! ugh)
1 c. powdered sugar
4-5 tsp.  milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
Layer the 1st 8 ingredients in your  bread machine in order listed. Set to dough cycle, check after 5 minutes and add 1-2 TB. if dough seems too dry. When the dough cycle is done, turn out onto counter and divide in half. Roll each half to about a 10 x 8 inch rectangle. Brush with butter (or beaten egg white), combine the cinnamon and sugar,  sprinkle 1/2 on each rectangle. Roll up tightly, starting with the short side. Pinch the ends to seal. Place seam side down in 2 greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pans. Cover and let rise in a warm place till doubled, about 1 hour. Bake @ 350* for about 25-30 minutes, may need to cover with foil if browning to quickly. Take out, cool 5 minutes, then dump on to a cooling rack to cool all the way. Combine glaze ingredients and spoon over both cooled loaves. ENJOY!!

This recipe came from an old church cookbook, I just jotted it down one day and cannot remember where I found it or what book it was in…sorry. But thanks to that person! I am WORKING on being better at recording where I get the recipe from…that was my “pre-blogging didn’t know what a blog was” days….

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. I had a bread machine jump off a counter too. It was when I was first married. Scary to hear a loud crash like that while you’re in the shower 🙂 I definitely will try this recipe. I am a bread addict when it comes to yummy bread. I could just eat the bread at those restaurants that give you the rolls with the honey butter…YUM.

    • Oh! So glad to know that I am not the only one with the case of the jumping bread machine! Hope you give it a whirl and like it! Hey, honey butter is a staple in my house…love it on toast! I remember way back when when I was dating my now husband, we would go out to dinner way late…after he worked and I had eaten already, I would just eat the bread & honey butter while he ate his main dish…thanks for bringing back a fond memory! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

