Brat Burgers

Standard

I was going to call these ~ “Deconstructed Brat Burgers” ~ but wasn’t so sure about the title…..maybe “Reconstructed Brat Burgers”….then decided it was too much to say. I have been contemplating these for a while now, wondering how I would make them, what to put in them and what to top them with! I told my husband the other night about my plan and he said “why not leave a brat as a brat?” My genius response was “cause.” So here you go. My family enjoyed these and I hope your’s does too!

* I think brats are ment to be topped with mustard and onions, so that is what I put in it. Have fun with your toppings. We went with tomato, lettuce, ketchup and BBQ sauce. Sorry if we broke some brat rules….

* Double the onion mixture if you want more for the top! Just put 1/2 in the meat and set the other 1/2 aside. I WILL be doing this next time for sure!

* If you are looking for a good burger bun….try these!

Brat Burgers  
1 1/2 lb. good quality brats
1 TB. mustard
1 1/4 c. onions, chopped up small
1 TB. butter
1/4 – 1/2 c. beer
1/2 tsp. seasoned salt
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
Saute the onions in butter till tender and are a lovely brown color (15 minutes or so). Add the beer, (the rest goes to the cook IF you like that sorta thing or your husband or save for another use) seasoned salt and garlic powder. Cook till liquid is absorbed, about 10 minutes on low. Set aside to cool a bit. Squeeze the meat out of the casings (sorry) and put in bowl, add the mustard and cooled off onion mixture. Mix well and form into 6 patties. Grill on low for 6-8 minutes (remembering to close the grill lid, don’t be distracted by your dirty hands….). Flip and cook another 5 minutes or so. Cooking time varies when lid is left open depending on each grill. Serve on buns with desired toppings. Enjoy!!

As always, thanks for reading and for your comments ~ they are really fun and greatly appreciated and helpful too! If you want to be updated with each new post you can do that by clicking the “follow” button on the right side or “liking” on Facebook. Thanks again and as always….enjoy! I do! Feel free to forward on to your friends if you think they may like to read too! 🙂

I just linked this recipe to lifeasmom.com. She has something called a recipe swap over there where you share your recipes….it was all about “man” food for Father’s Day, this seems like a perfect Father’s Day weekend food! Check out some other “manly” dishes! have fun!

Also linked to Six Sister’s Stuff.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Barbera!!!! YOUR BUNS!!!!!! i am still working on mine–they were a bit dry. how do you think you get them to be like Walts? you know the kind with a soft layerey crumb and not a coarse dry ish crumb????

    • PLEASE know that I have had many a dry buns!! I think the secret is the rising…when they look ALMOST doubled ~ preheat the oven, when preheated then pop them it…they will rise just a bit more IN the oven. (I do not think you should take “let rise 30 minutes” seriously. I start checking after 20 minutes and sometimes they are ALREADY ready to go and sometimes it takes an hour, depending on the heat in your kitchen.) When they are risen too much they fall flat and when they are not risen enough they are dry. Just my thoughts. OH and try bread flour!!

Leave a Reply

