Carrot Salad & Mushroom Side Dish

Standard

Looks like we have some good produce on sale at Aldi this week!
Sale run from May 9 – May 15

* A 16-oz. pkg. of baby carrots is $0.49. Grab a bag or two of those to make Carrot Salad!
* An 8-oz. pkg. of button mushrooms is $0.69. Pick up a pack of these and make a delicious Mushroom Side Dish.

I have been reading the Ramona books to my kids and one night we read about Beezus making a fresh carrot salad because Mother forgot to turn on the crock pot and they were hungry ~ so they had pancakes and carrot salad and argued about whose Grandmother said the wisest things….oh…sorry, tangent.  ANYWAYS…..I have been wanting carrot salad since reading that. (Who craves that sorta thing??)  This will be a great summer salad, nice and cool. My kids just ate just the carrots, that was fine by me.

* I steamed the carrots for 15 minutes, so they still had some crunch to them.

* I did 1/3 of this batch and it was perfect for us to eat as a side with dinner. You can go more or less on the onions, green pepper and celery depending upon your level of like and dis-like. (I personally would go with a little less onions.)

Carrot Salad  
2-3 lb. baby carrots (cooked)
1 green pepper, cut up
2 small onions, cut up
1 c. celery, cut up
Dressing: 
1 can tomato soup
1 c. sugar
3/4 c. oil
3/4 c. vinegar
2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp. mustard
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. celery seed
Stream the carrots for about 15 minutes, or cook however you would like. Combine the veggies and put in a bowl, set aside. Mix the dressing ingredients in a blender and blend till well combined. Pour over veggies and chill well. Serve with a slotted spoon. Enjoy!

Recipe from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor.

I have NEVER liked mushrooms, but my husband does, so I make them WHEN I want to kiss up remember to. I saw this recipe at Cooking Up a Sale and wanted to try it, though our grill is capush right now. I made just a few changes and sautéed on the stove top and GUESS what??!? I liked it, I ACTUALLY liked it!! You will too!

Mushroom Side Dish       
8 oz. fresh mushrooms (whole IF you are grilling, sliced IF you want if you are sauteing)
1 small onion, sliced
1/3 c. oil
1/4 c. ketchup
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. pepper
2 TB. Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp. garlic
1 tsp.  brown sugar
Put mushrooms and onions in a bowl. Set aside. Combine the remaining ingredients and pour over veggies, give it a good stir. (It may seem like it is not enough to coat well BUT give it some time and the salt will bring out some of the “juices” from the onions and mushrooms,making even more marinade appear.) Stir a couple times, allow to marinade for 4 hours. At this point head over to Cooking Up a Sale to see how she grills hers OR heat a skillet and add the mushrooms, using a slotted spoon,  you do not want too much liquid, cause you want it to brown a bit. Cook and stir over medium heat for about 10-15 minutes or till tender and  browned nicely. Serve as a side dish to chicken, steak or on burgers. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Cooking Up a Sale.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Well Bobbi, I like the look of the carrot salad but what I really enjoy is the background of why you made the salad, you just gotta love the Beezus and Ramona books. The mushroom thing however I’m not so sure of but I would certainly make dad happy if I made that so maybe someday I will:)

    • Something about those books, it might just be my childhood memories, I MIGHT be enjoying them even more then the kids! Dad would just love the mushrooms, any one who likes mushrooms would like this…I think…not a mushroom expert here though!

Leave a Reply

