Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Standard

A friend and I were talking about Spinach Artichoke Dip a few weeks back, she was looking for a recipe for it. I took that (self-given) “assignment” and ran with it. I went to my research books (aka massive recipe collection), mashed a few recipes together and came up with this one, a winner for my husband and I, a bit too much green in there for my kids to give it much more than a look, that is fine ~ more for me us!!!! They will eat spinach when it is a bit more camo-ed, not when it is OBVIOUSLY spinach. They will learn……This would be great when you have friends over for an appetizer before dinner, or like we had it, as a Sunday night snack!

* As far as the 2 c. any kind of cheese goes, it is just that, any kind! I did pepper jack and cheddar. I know some people do not like heat so I did not want anyone to think that you HAD to use pepper jack cheese. Use mozzarella, cheddar, monetary jack, Mexican blend, or pizza blend ~ whatever, just about 2 c. worth! (I love cheese….)

* You may use fresh spinach, just put it in a microwave safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap and microwave just a minute or two till wilted. Drain well. Or use frozen, probably about a 10 oz. pkg. Just thaw it and then SQUEEZE and twist in a clean kitchen towel to get out ALL that liquid.

Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip 
12 oz. jar of artichoke hearts, drain well
1 c. cooked spinach, squeeze out the liquid
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
2 tsp. lemon juice
4-6 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. sour cream
1/2 c. mayo
2 c. cheese of choice, see note above
3/4 c. parmesan cheese, shredded
Combine all of the above in a bowl and pour into a greased 9″ square pan or a 7″ x 11″ pan or something about that size. Cover this and bake @ 350* for 20-30 minutes or so, then uncover and bake or broil till browned a bit on top! Serve with crusty garlic bread, tortilla chips, or crackers. ENJOY!!! 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. THis looks so good! I love spinich artichoke dip and have never made it. Since you have begun this blog Bobbi there are so many new things I want to try. Right now I am going to make the lemony chex mix!:)

    • This was my first time making it, I have eaten it just never made it….it was easy! You CAN do it too 🙂 Hope the lemony chex mix was good!

  2. 🙂 Yummy! I have to admit that Tim and I have eaten a pan of this for dinner before…..and TJ actually likes it too!

    • Hey this is just fine for dinner!!! 🙂 I would go for it….though my men would probably like some kind of meat. Good for TJ, he needs to teach my kids a thing or 2 about eating what is good for them!!

  3. Made this and it was YUM! I also have eaten it but had never made it 🙂 I did add the whole 8oz cr cheese and a splash of milk and butter because we like it really creamy. Tasted great! Can’t wait to make your sweet and sour chicken!

Leave a Reply

