“Twix” Bars

Standard

Baking Day makes me giddy. It is fun. I go to bed thinking, “YEAH, I get to bake tomorrow!” I know, I KNOW! I may be making dinner and suddenly there are bars in the oven instead. I sometimes put banana bread ingredients together when I should be heading to bed….. Oh well, there are worse things, right? Here is a simply lovely bar. It will make you smile. It comes together quick and disappears fast. Chocolate and caramel, ANOTHER wonderful combo! Twix bars, I don’t really enjoy the real candy bar, but so enjoy these….. If you LOVE shortbread (I do), then you will love these. If you LOVE caramel (I do), then you will love these. If you love chocolate (do I really need to say it….) then you will LOVE these!!!

* The original recipe (I changed up the caramel and milk ingredients, just a bit and the amount of chocolate called for), found here at King Arther Flour, shows how you can cut the cooled bars into a “Twix” bar shape (you will need more chocolate then) ~ I was planning on doing that, but not sure what happened other than the chocolate just ended up spread on top, guess I forgot my original plans…..or didn’t have enough chocolate or something, either way would be fantastic.

* Butter IS better when it comes to shortbread, I am generally a margarine user, but NOT for shortbread! 

* I prefer semi-sweet chocolate chips, well, really like dark chocolate ~ but use the semi-sweet. But you can use whatever your chocolate preference is ~ dark, bittersweet, semi-sweet, milk chocolate.

“Twix” Bars 
1 c. butter, soft
1 c. powdered sugar
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 c. flour
1 (14 oz.) bag of caramels, unwrapped
4 TB. milk
2 c. chocolate chips
1 TB. shortening
Combine the flour, powdered sugar, vanilla and butter and combine till a thick batter forms. Press into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake @ 300* for 35-40 minutes till light brown. Meanwhile melt the caramels with the milk, either in a double boiler on the stove top or in the microwave, for 45 second intervals, stir after each time, till melted. Pour the caramel over the baked crust and chill for a little while till set up. Melt the chocolate with the shortening, either in a double boiler on the stove top or in the microwave, stirring after each 45 second intervals. Spread melted chocolate on set up caramel. Let chocolate set up and then cut into bars. ENJOY!!

Recipe adapted from King Arther Flour

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. I made these last week and they are sooooo good!!! I dont know if I can make them again b/c I ate too many! Maybe when I can bring them somewhere 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed them! I KNOW about eating to much….I could tell you that they freeze well, might not help though ~ cause it DOESN’T stop me from going to the freezer and snagging one out and breaking my teeth on them….. 🙂 thanks for the note!

Leave a Reply

