Pizza Breakfast Casserole and Ranch Potatoes

Standard

I am trying something new today! Hope it is a “hit”!! Lisa over at Cooking Up a Sale, does just that, she shares recipes that match up with sales. (Check it out, she posts according to the Meijer sales). She does a great job at it, and well I may not be quite as thorough as she is, I would like to try my hand at it…just a bit and share a recipe or 2 on Thursday  that will use an ingredient or two  from either Aldi or Strack and VanTil sale fliers. I am not sure if both those stores are nationwide BUT even if they aren’t, I sure hope you enjoy the recipe(s) anyway! If you do shop those stores, I hope you find this helpful and fun! Cannot wait to hear anyone’s thoughts!!! Thanks for the idea, Lisa!

Sale items taken from Strack and VanTil this week. Sale runs from April 26-May 2.
*Eggs ~ $0.69 each. Limit of 2. Here is a Pizza Breakfast Casserole. It is great for “breakfast for dinner”. Change up the toppings as you see fit, use all meat or just veggies, or a combo of both. You can use whatever cheese suits your fancy.
*Red Potatoes ~ 2(5 lb) bags for $5.00. Red potatoes are a treat, not a dessert treat, a side dish treat! This recipe is called Ranch Potatoes, a favorite in our house.

Pizza Breakfast Casserole
1 pkg. crescent rolls
6 eggs
some milk, about 1/4 c.
salt & pepper to taste
1-2 c. cheddar cheese, shredded
Optional ingredients: mushrooms, ham, bacon, sausage, onions, green pepper, etc.
Grease a 9″x13″ pan. Lay crescent rolls in the bottom and stretch to cover the bottom on the pan, pinch the seams to together and press to flatten. Beat eggs together, add milk and salt & pepper. Pour over unbaked  “crust”. Dice up any and all ingredients (make sure to cook the meat 1st) you want on your “pizza” and sprinkle over eggs. Top with cheese. Bake @ 350* for 25-30 minutes. ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from the cookbook “Tried and True”.

Ranch Potatoes
10 medium red potatoes
1/2 c. sour cream
1/2 c. prepared Ranch dressing
1/4 c. crumbled bacon
2 TB. minced parsley, or 1 tsp. dried parsley
1 c. cheddar cheese (I use more)
Topping:
1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 c. butter (melted)
2 c. crushed corn flakes
Cook the potatoes till tender, quarter (leaving skins on, if desired) and put in greased 9″x13″ pan. Combine the sour cream, dressing, bacon, parsley and cheese. Mix well and pour over potatoes, toss gently. Top with the 1/2 c. cheese. Combine corn flakes and butter and sprinkle over casserole. Bake @ 350* for 40-45 minutes. ENJOY!!

Recipe from “Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor”.

*For the Ranch potatoes, I actually cut the red potatoes up into SMALL cubes ~ maybe 1/2″-1″ cubes ~ THEN cook in water till just tender, not cooked ALL the way, then drain. Then follow the rest of the recipe.
*I tried Greek yogurt the other week, subing it in for sour cream and mayo in some recipes, this is one of the recipes I used it in, for the sour cream. It was delicious.  If you have never used it but would like to try it, I would suggest using it for 1/2 of the sour cream, just to be sure you enjoy the flavor.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

5 responses »

  1. This is a really nice idea, Bobbi, maybe it will inspire me to make some sort of a plan for meals instead of winging it half the time. Thanks!

  2. Sounds good Bobbi!! I’m so glad to hear that Strack has eggs on sale. I bought them last week at Aldi for a $1.59. I didn’t think that was a very good price. I’m going to try that ranch potato recipe. I wonder if you could use one cup of greek yogurt to substitute for the sour cream and the ranch dressing. And then add a packet of ranch dressing to it instead. Just a thought. 🙂 I’ve never tried greek yogurt before, but I have heard of people combining it with the ranch dressing packets instead of veggie dip for veggies and dip.

    • I was THRILLED to see the cheap eggs, we LOVE eggs here ~ one of my fravrite sales to see IS eggs…..I would think that the Greek yogurt (1c.) plus a packet of Ranch seasoning would be just fine! If you haven’t had it before, I would suggest going slow at first ~ maybe do 1/2 c. Greek yogurt and 1/2 c. sour cream. (That is what I would be inclined to do.) It is a stronger flavor then sour cream, IF that makes sense. I subed Greek yogurt in about 3-4 dishes, some of which I will be sharing over the next few weeks. Thanks, and I would love to hear what you think of the potatoes ~ with our without Greek yogurt. (PS, buy it at Aldi..it IS cheaper!:))

  3. Hey Bobbi! I made this for supper the other night and my kids liked it. Especially the fact that there was no gross bread pieces on the bottom, but a nice “crust” instead. I think next time I make it I’ll add a few more eggs, but I love the taste of it! Also, I did the potatoes too and they were good! Oh and I found out that Aldi had Greek Yogurt after I bought it for $2.00 more at Strack! I should have read your blog before I went and gone to Aldi first! ;o) Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

