Chocolate Cake with Fudgey Frosting

Standard

SO I my house, we have entered the season of BIRTHDAYS!!!! Yeah and fun. This is the time of year  I get to make loads of cakes and cupcakes OR at least have a liget excuse to make loads of goodies!  This cake bakes up beautifully, though I only have 8″ cake pans so that is what I use, I think 9″ may be better. Just remember  it will rise QUITE a bit, so bake on a cookie sheet just in case of spillovers (though hasn’t happened to me yet…..)  The crispy bits on the edge, no need to worry ~ break it off and nibbles go to the chef! (My rule.) I then just trim it up nicely to be flat.  This is a very “not dry” cake, a very rich cake ESPECIALLY when paired with this “fudgey” frosting. If you want to go more the “buttercream”  route, you can use this recipe, just scroll down a bit and you will see it.  IF you like milk….ugh….this would be a real good cake to have with a glass of cold milk! Oh, by the way, we like a little cake with our frosting AS you can tell! 🙂 (My cake “deflated” a bit because of ALL my frosting,I will go less next time ~ I was distracted talking about pot roasts and went a bit over board WITH the frosting…though, I am not complaining!)

*Try to avoid opening your oven door too much, just turn the oven light on so you can check on it that way, do the toothpick test when it looks to be about done. Don’t want to deflate your lovely risen cake. (I know cause I recently deflated cupcakes…..)

* This frosting will harden up a bit  as it “sets” so don’t leave it uncovered on the counter TOO long, IF you do, just micro like 10 seconds to soften it up.

*Have no fear if you do not have instant coffee granules, just use 1/2 c. of your leftover morning coffee.

*The vinegar and milk it taking the place of buttermilk, IF you have buttermilk, by all means use 1 c. of it! That is just not something that I usually have.

Chocolate Cake
1/2 c. soft butter
1 1/2 c. white sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 3/4 c. flour
3/4 c. baking cocoa
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1 TB. vinegar
milk
1 TB. vanilla
1 1/2 tsp. instant coffee granules
1/2 c. hot water
1/2 c. sour cream
Put the vinegar in a 1 c. measuring cup, add milk to make it 1 cup.  Let set a few minutes. Meanwhile, beat together the butter and sugars for 30 seconds or so. Add the flour, cocoa, baking soda,  baking powder, salt, eggs, “buttermilk”, and vanilla and beat 2 minutes. Combine the coffee and hot water, add that and the sour cream and mix just till combined. Pour into 2 ~ 9″ pans that have been greased and lined with parchment. (Be sure to put pans on a cookie sheet to AVOID a messy oven ~ IF spill overs do happen!!) Bake @ 350* for 28-35 minutes DEPENDING on your oven. Cool. Frost one cake layer, then put the other on top and frost top and sides.

Fudgey Frosting
1 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1/2 c. butter
2 oz. cream cheese
1/2 c. sour cream
4-5 c. powdered sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
milk to reach good “frosting” consistency
Melt the chocolates with the butter, let set till cooled. Beat the cream cheese, sour cream, vanilla, touch of milk (1-2 TB’s to start), and powdered sugar for 1-2 minutes. Add the cooled chocolate mixture and beat 1-2 more minutes till nice and fluffy, adding a touch milk IF needed. ENJOY!!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Love chocolate!!! Yummy goodness. A glass of milk was perfect. Heed the advice of putting a cookie sheet under the cake pans….mine spilled over. (Bonus, I now have a very clean oven!!)

    • Thanks for the reminder of a cookie sheet! I went back to the recipe and added a note IN the actual recipe so that the whole oven incident doesn’t happen to anyone else! Glad you guys enjoyed it!! 🙂 Mine never spilled over in the times I have made it, but it rose HIGH!!! I might try it in 3- 8″ pans next time for a 3!!! level cake, ALL the more places for frosting to go!!:) Thank again…

  2. Bobbi, this was a very yummy cake. I actually made it while we were camping in a cast-iron dutch oven over the fire. It didn’t look pretty but it tasted great. My family loved it and milk went perfectly with this treat. Thanks for this great recipe! I can’t wait to make it again.

    • I LOVE that you made it on a cast-iron dutch oven!! I NEVER would have thought to do that, so “susy-homemakerish” of you!! Glad it was a hit! Thanks for sharing I love love to hear what people make and the things they change or do different!

Leave a Reply

