Homemade Burger Buns

Standard

We are entering (or have entered and left for the time being) BURGER season!! Five members of my family LOVE burgers, so we have them often and lots of different versions ~ cannot help it, I like to change it up! Sometimes burgers just “happen” and I may not have buns in the house OR  I forget to buy them. SINCE I AM “my-mom’s-twin’s-daughter” a LOT of the time, I often follow in her footsteps and much like her I would rather grow the wheat, nurture it endlessly, shuck it, grind it up, mix, knead AND bake the bread then go to the store for a bag o’ buns. Truth. (OR I just enjoy making the buns…….) Anyways. This is the recipe I have been using  for years. Where it came from??  Not sure.  These are the buns as seen with the Caesar Chicken Sandwiches

* The recipe originally said it makes 8 buns. Well, yes, it does IF you are a giant. So I suggest 10-12. I started at 10, have recently changed it to 12, just cause my kids like to have a whole bun. Consider the size of your burgers (remember they shrink), and go from there. They rise BEAUTIFULLY.

*Please be sure to rise the buns enough. Doubled is size is the best. I have been making these for a while BUT was nervously excited to make them for family coming over for dinner and did NOT rise them enough….they were kinda dense and sorta dry. THAT was a bummer. Lesson learned…annoying to botch something that is SO delicious!

* These buns pictures (above) got away from me in the oven….I prefer them lighter, do it as dark or light as you like!!!

*Update…People are asking me IF these freeze well. I have froze them one time, I then made the buns into Hot Ham & Cheese Sandwiches ~ it worked good. Though like any “bakery” type bun, it was  a little dry, still good, but not as good as the 1st day. Will I freeze them again? Yes.

Homemade Burger Buns
1 c. warm water
1 TB. yeast
1/4 c. sugar
2 TB. soft butter
1 egg, beaten slightly
3 1/4 c. flour
1 tsp. salt
1 egg, beaten
1 TB. water
sesame seeds
Combine the warm water and yeast and let set for 5 minutes. Add the sugar, butter, egg, flour, and salt.  Mix a bit and dump on floured counter and knead for 6-8 minutes. (Or feel free to put in your lovely bread machine ~ the first 7 ~ and set on dough cycle!!) Divide to 10 (or 8 or 12, whatever suits your fancy, see note above). Let rest 5 minutes. Shape into a “bun” shape ~ 3″ roundish and 1″ thickish. Combine the egg and water and brush over the buns, sprinkle with sesame seeds.Cover with a light towel and let rise for 30 minutes or till doubled.  Bake, in preheated oven, @ 375* for 12-15 minutes. Enjoy!!!

 

  

This batch just above  is actually a double batch, so it is 24 rolls.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

21 responses »

  1. I am going to try these! And I’m going to cheat a bit and use my bread machine. I love homemade bread and don’t even buy bread at the store anymore. Now I won’t have to buy hamburg buns either. Thanks Bobbi!

    • You’re welcome and you are not cheating!! I use my bread machine a lot with bread making!! Look for a hotdog bun recipe coming out SOMETIME!! 🙂

  2. Wow, those are too beautiful! Can’t wait to try them! I think i could stop buying bread too. May have to buy bigger pants tho :\

  3. Crazy-i was just going to ask you if you have ever made these with some wheat flour?? Think i might give that a try?? Any recommendations??

    • Please do give it a try and let me know how it is!! I would not use ALL wheat though, that will make it really dense, I would probably go with 1 cup wheat and the rest white….hope that helps! 🙂

  4. Have you ever frozen these and taken them out later? I’m just needing 4 buns, and wondering to make a “bun” meal tomorrow, or freeze them: )

    • Yes, I have put some in the freezer, we ate them about a week later and they were fine. Obviously not as fresh as the day made, but fine. 🙂 They may have been a bit drier and a bit crumblier…..but not a one in my family said a thing! Hope this helps! (I will freeze them again without a doubt.)

  5. Pingback: Shredded Pork Buns with Coleslaw « Kats’ Kitchen

  6. Bobbi, back on your blog again now that summer is over. I made these buns all summer. They are awesome! We used them for burgers, but also as sandwiches. My kids had them for their lunch on the first day of school with ham and cheese, lettuce and mustard. I make up the dough in my bread machine and it works great. I found I have to add a 1/2 T more of yeast so that they rise and for me it make 15-18 good size buns. (We have big burgers though!) They also freeze very well! Thanks for the recipe!

    • You are SO welcome AND welcome back, so glad to have you reading again 😉 HOPE you enjoy and find so more fun recipes….and useful ones too! I have also been making these buns ALL summer, even some mini ones, like you said for lunches! Thanks for reading and commenting!!

  7. These are so yummy! I made them for burgers tonight and they were not nearly as pretty as yours, so I probably have to mess around with the shaping and rising a bit…but they were still good! I used my bread machine on the dough cycle, and I made 12 buns. They ended up being regular store-sized buns, so I think I’ll make 15 next time so that I have smaller ones for the kids.

    • Oh, goodie! Thanks, I am so glad you made them AND enjoyed them!! It took me LOTS of tries to make them look nice, I found that I was over-rising. Once I figured out to set the timer SO I didn’t forget about them, they then started baking up a bit lovelier. (The good thing about these is they DO NOT have to be pretty to be good!!) Thanks for reading and commenting!

  8. Pingback: Homemade Burger Buns | Kats' Kitchen

  9. Pingback: Homemade Burger Buns | Kats' Kitchen

Leave a Reply

