“Hostess” Cupcakes

Standard

1st off, I need to ask you to click here and check out the new Recipe Index and let me know what you think!! Hope this is a help. I did not get a chance to check them all to make sure I linked it up right SO if you click on Brownie “Buckeye” Cupcakes but get Kid’s Favorite Green Beans, by all means LET me know so I can get it fixed up lickity split!  🙂

Here is my version of a “hostess” cupcake. Take the name lightly, I was never a fan of those things, but wanted to make one. I am thinking that next time I am going to make a ganache for a lovely drizzle on top OR dip the top  IN ganache THEN drizzle with white chocolate, yum……we’ll see. Let me know if anyone tries that!  I really have a thing for cupcakes. I love to make ’em and love to eat ’em! They are fun. Easy. I cannot make them ALL the time because leftover cake/cupcakes can easily be mistaken for “breakfast” food in this house! So we save it for special occasions….like FRIDAYS!!! oh. I made these when we had family from out-of-town over for dinner, that was fun!

*IF you are not a fan of making “from scratch” cake, by all means ~ use a boxed mix, you can still fill it with the cream filling and frost it, etc. It will still be DELISH!

Cupcakes
1/2 c. + 1 TB. cocoa powder
1/2 c. + 1 TB. hot water
2 1/4 c. flour
3/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 sticks + 1 TB. soft butter
1 2/3 c. sugar
3 eggs
1 TB. vanilla
3/4 c. sour cream
Whisk the cocoa and hot water together till smooth. Set aside. Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Melt the butter, then add the sugar and beat for 4-5 minutes. Add the eggs, 1 @ a time, beat a bit after each addition. Add the vanilla and the chocolate mixture. Mix till combined. Add the flour mixture alternately with the sour cream. Put into cupcake tins lined with liners :). (2/3 full) Bake at 350* for 18-20 minutes. Cool.

Filling
2 TB. flour
1/2 c. milk
Shake this together till nice and smooth. Cook in small saucepan on medium heat till thick, stirring constantly. Cool thoroughly. Set aside.
1/4 c. shortening
1/4 c. margarine
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
Beat these 4 ingredients at a fast speed till nice and creamy. Add the cooled mixture and beat till fluffy.  Put in ziplock baggie and set aside.

Frosting
1/4 c. cocoa
1/4 c. milk (may not need it all….may need more….depends on the weather, no joke)
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. soft butter
1 lb. powdered sugar
Beat the butter and add the cocoa, 1/2 the milk, vanilla, and 1/2 the powdered sugar. Beat till smooth. Add the rest of the powdered sugar, and if it is  not “frosting” consistency, then add more milk, bit by bit till it is just like frosting.  Set aside.

White Chocolate Drizzle
1/2 c. white chocolate chips
2 tsp. shortening
Melt these together in micro for 30 sec. Stir, repeat till melted. Set aside and cool a bit.

And now….the assembly.  Easy. When the cupcakes are cooled, take the bottom end of a wooden spoon and poke a hole in each cupcake. Snip the corner of the filling bag and squeeze just a bit in each ~ about 1 tsp. or so ~ there  may be extra, add more IF you want. See picture.

Frost with frosting. Drizzle with glaze. Serve and ENJOY!! (I stored the leftovers in the fridge, cause of the “whipped creamy” filling.

 

Cupcake recipe from Annie’s Eats.
Filling and frosting recipes adapted from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. These are the best chocolate cupcakes I have ever had :)! I will absolutely be making these soon. Thanks for the recipe, Bobbi!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

