Orange Carrot Pineapple Smoothies

Standard

Well, I am participating in my VERY first 5k this morning.  Rain or shine, I hope it happens DISPITE the rain in the forecast! I am giddy, or is it nervous?? Both those feelings make me twitterpayted in the tummy. I plan on walking, running doesn’t work for me, so I am perfectly content to come in last ~ someone needs to be right??   Here is a yummy healthy snack to try, great way to get in your fruits AND veggie! I made these smoothies for my kids the other day for a  snack. The are good and refreshing, don’t be afraid of the carrot, you can sorta taste it but not a ton.

* I added a bit of orange zest too, my orange did not give me quite the right about of juice ~ so I used some of the pineapple juice as well!

* I doubled to get 4 glasses. (Filled all about the same as above picture.)

* Please take this hint seriously. My son watched me make these, saw what went in them….aka carrot….and took a sip and declared not to like the carrot taste in it. Was it in his head? Not sure. The other kids (who didn’t watch me make it) all slurped it down, so, maybe add the carrot secretly?!?!? I will next time!

Orange Carrot Pinapple Smoothie
3/4 c. pinapple (fresh or canned)
1/2 c. ice cubes ( maybe 5 or so)
1/3 c. fresh squeezed orange juice
1/4 c. shredded carrot
1/2 of a banana
Place all in a blended and blend till nice and smooth. Pour into glasses, pop in a straw and ENJOY!

Recipe from NancyCreative.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Love adding veggies to smoothies – just put spinach in Regan’s strawberry smoothie yesterday! She even watched me – good thing she doesn’t know better…yet! Hope you had a great time at the 5k, it looks like the rain held off for the event so far!

    • I want to hear more about this spinach added to smoothie thing! Haven’t tried that, sounds like something I should try…! But I would REALLY have to hid the spinach bag for sure! Yep, 5k was great and yes the rain held off!!!

  2. Looks like someone was waiting patiently for mommy to take the picture before getting to drink his smoothie, which looks mouthwatering, especially on a hot summer afternoon:)

Leave a Reply

