Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

Standard

I have gotten a request for a pizza recipe! 🙂 LOVE IT!  Here in one of my favorites.

 I have been making pizza for years, probably one of the first things I tried and failed with as a newlywed who was OVERLY  giddy to bake/cook for her husband. Can’t say I didn’t give it a valiant effort. He ate my failed attempts week after week. Then I quit and started again….to repeat my failures. Then one weekend it happened, he said ~ “this is really good!” AHHH!! I could have shouted. I dreamed of making good pizza. Well, that was years ago. I still have my “bad” pizza nights, like the time I forgot the yeast ~ who does that??? We choked it down….not to waste pizza. Once I didn’t realize the true potential of dried chili flakes~ 5 alarm fire in our mouths! Needless to say,  it is a hard thing to get down pat. Don’t be discouraged IF the first time is not a home run, you will get it and learn what is good for you ~ it may not be the following recipe, it may be another one. Just give it a go!  This is my current favorite pizza recipe. I say current because I like to make something till it is mastered (in my crazy mind), and then go back to an old favorite, then come back to it again, repeat again and again. I want to give you any tips I can so that you too can enjoy pizza from your own oven. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a little brick oven with a real fire in it to cook our pizza’s in….LIKE a REAL pizza place……..? yum.

* My first “ah” that was good moment with pizza was when my mom told me she pre-cooked the crust and it was good. I took that and RAN with it! A very important step to pizza making is to pre-cook the crust, just a bit! Follow the directions below. Don’t cook TOO long, you don’t want it dark. (Oops. Do as I say, not as I do, see picture below……it is what it is.)  Don’t cook it TOO short, you don’t want to tease it into thinking it was getting cooked and pull it out a doughy mess….. Prick the bottom PLEASE or you will have a lovely dough pillow.  Live and learn….

* Making your own sauce….Well THAT takes practice too. You may like it spicey ~ add some red pepper flakes, just a touch……. You may like it sweet, add more sugar. You may like it well seasoned, then by all means, add more spices! You really cannot hurt it. Just add a bit, taste, add more. You can always add but not take away, so do proceed with caution till you know for sure how you like it!

* If your family is not into the chunks of tomato found in diced tomatoes, go for the pureed or crushed tomatoes.

* Not many of us have the 14″ deep dish pie plate (aka cake pan). So go ahead and use 3 (or 4 if you like it thinner) 8″or 9″ round cake pans. Like personal pan pizza’s. Have your kids help you with putting the toppings on! I use 3 pans, again, you will figure out what is best for you!

* At times I add a small can of tomato paste and a bit o’ water to the tomato sauce and simmer a bit.

* PLEASE do not add your oil in with your warm water and yeast, IT will not foam nice and foamy.

Enjoy and let me know if you like it OR have any questions. Also PLEASE let me know if you have any tips or tricks for me, I LOVE to learn new things!! P.S. ~ Pizza  is nicely paired with Dessert Pizza for dessert, just cook it along with your pizza and it will be nicely cooled for dessert time! 🙂

Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza 

Crust~                                                                                                                     

4 c.  flour
3 TB. yellow cornmeal
1 3/4 tsp. salt
2 3/4 tsp.  yeast
4 TB. olive oil
4 TB. butter, melted
1 c. + 2 TB. lukewarm water

Pizza Insides~

3/4 lb. mozzarella cheese, sliced OR shredded
1 lb. Italian sweet or hot sausage, cooked and crumbled
OR sliced veggies, peppers, mushrooms, spinach, tomato, onion, etc.
OR ham and pineapple
OR pepperoni
OR whatever you want!!!

Tomato Sauce~

 28-ounce can diced  tomatoes
good sprinkle of garlic powder
1 TB. sugar
oregano, basil, rosemary, parley, to taste
like 3 dried chile flakes, UNLESS you like heat, SO optional

Tippy Top~

1 c. freshly grated Parmesan

Crust~ Mix the dough ingredients in your stand mixer, knead it in your machine for about 7 min.  You may also use your bread machine on “dough” cycle.  Or do it by hand.  Mix the warm water with the yeast, let set for 5 minutes till foamy. Add the rest of the ingredients and knead well for about 6-8 minutes, till it is nice and smooth and elastic. Put your dough in a greased pan and let set, covered for about 1 hour.

Meanwhile. Grease a 14″ deep dish pizza pan (aka cake pan) and drizzle with 3-4 TB. olive oil, tilting pan to cover bottom and partway up the sides. (Use 2 TB.  for smaller pans). Roll and stretch dough to the size circle you need and press into prepared pan(s). Let set 15 minutes. Stretch dough again, to cover bottom of pan and partway up the sides, oil may spill over. That is fine just fine. Pre-heat oven to 425* and let the dough rest while it is pre-heating. Bake crust for 10 minutes, till just barely brown.

Tomato Sauce~ Drain tomatoes well. Add your seasonings, garlic and sugar. Set aside. Cover baked crust with cheese, then meat or veggies or whatever you want, then tomato mixture, then parmesan cheese. Bake another 25 minutes till golden brown. Lift out of pan and cool 15 minutes. Or you will have a burn line down your chin…been there, done that! ENJOY.

Recipe adapted from King Arthur Flour.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Looks great! Planning to make the Dessert Pizza this week along with a LOT of other new recipes I’ve had on my list. Great pictures by the way!

    • Cannot wait to hear what you think of the Dessert Pizza! Thanks for your encouragement about the pictures, I do have a hard time with taking the pictures, not sure if they look OK, but so nice to have a pic with a recipe! 🙂 Hope you will let me know how all the new recipes are….hint hint!

  2. sounds good Bobbi!!! i will be trying your recipe—maybe this week–it/s been a couple of weeks since i made pizza…….mmmmmmmm

    • WELL. It sounds to me like you are WAY overdue to make pizza!!! This recipe sounded similar to your’s when we talked about pizza all those weeks ago, cannot what to hear how it goes!!!

  3. I’m making this dough right now and it’s almost been an hour and my dough hasn’t risen….is this a problem? I’m afraid I may have messed up 😦 All the ingredients are in there and I waited for the yeast to get foamy…I don’t know what happened 😦

    • OH NO!!! Sorry I got this so late…..I wonder how it ended up turning out? Sounds like your yeast WAS active so that was not the problem…..pizza dough does not rise quite as much as bread dough ~ being the flour/yeast ratio is a bit different then bread dough ~ did it rise at least a little bit? hummmm…..Sorry I am stumped as well 😦 I have not had that problem in all the times I made it!

      • I’ve had a bag of yeast in the freezer for awhile now (a year or two?) so maybe my yeast is old? I often have trouble with things rising. I baked the crust and it didn’t seem right (felt kind of rubbery) so I threw it away and I’ll try again tonight. I didn’t dare add the toppings and have nothing turn out and throw all of that out. I’m going to get some yeast packets and we’ll see if that is the problem.

      • I keep my extra yeast in the freezer too, then move to the fridge in about 1 c. portions…then refill from the freezer. Probably the same as you…..sounds like your yeast is not workin’ so well. 😦 bummer. hope the new yeast works! I see i have “instant yeast” on there….i use active dry yeast…..that is all i have ever used. I will change that….. sorry about the bummer crust, hope you had a back up dinner!!!!! 😉

  4. I’m making it again today. I realized I didn’t add in the butter or olive oil into the dough (I thought the olive oil was just for in the pan…oops!). I bought new yeast and the dough looks better so far. So we’ll see in an hour if it rises and cooks well 🙂 Thanks for your help.

    • Oh, yeah, that could have been the problem….I just read my recipe again ~ I just wrote “add the dough ingredients….” ~ sorry THAT probably wasn’t overly clear!!! (I was sick of typing I guess and went the short typing route!) This recipe will get NO rewards on health……..lots o’ butter and oil…..HOPE it turns out this time!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

