Polka Dot Mint Cookies

Standard

 Mint and chocolate, chocolate and mint…..what a lovely combination! Mint chocolate chip ice cream has ALWAYS been my favorite ice cream so when I saw these mint cookies on Amy’s Aliments I just knew that I would make them. I bought the mint chips (Guitterd Brand) around Christmas  time and just now got around to making them, wow how time FLIES!! I went to get the bag and realized that 1/2 the bag was eaten  used, so I did not have quite the full 2 cups. BUT what I did have some Frango mints (thanks mom!) so I chopped a couple of those up and added them in, yum. If you love the combo of mint and chocolate OR if any one in your family loves that combo ~ you and/or they will LOVE these!

* The chilling part is VERY important. It may look like the dough needs more flour or something, but don’t add it! It just needs to “firm”up a bit in the fridge. I let mine chill for a couple of hours and it was just fine….oh wait, it chilled a whole day and night and was still fine ~ at least give it the 10 min. in the chiller.

* IF you do not have the mint chips (TRY to HAVE them though because they pack a lovely mint punch that makes this cookies SO tasty!), you may add any mint candy you have! Andes Mints, Frango mints, mint kisses. Just chop them up into little “chocolate chip” size pieces. 

Polka Dot Mint Cookies

2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 c. butter
1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. salt
3 eggs
1/2 c. sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. green mint chips (found in the baking isle by chocolate chips)

Melt the chocolate and butter together, set aside to cool. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Mix well. To this add the eggs, sugar and vanilla. When this is all mixed up nicely, add the cooled down chocolate and fold in the mint chips. Chill AT LEAST 10 minutes. Bake @ 350* for 8-10 minutes. They will look a bit soft in the centers but will stiffen up a bit while cooling.

Recipe from Amy’s Aliments.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

