Meatloaf Cordon Blue and Butter Baked Rice

Standard

We like Chicken Cordon Blue and we like meatloaf, I knew this would be a winning recipe the second I read it. A friend shared with me some recipes that she found on Facebook and this was one of them. So nice to have friends to share recipes with!  Not much to say here. Just that it was enjoyed by my whole family. 🙂

* Most meatloafs have a sauce or something on top, didn’t think a sauce would be quite right. BUT  I did think that the top looked a bit boring ~ so I topped it with Parmesan cheese and Italian Seasoning and it made a simply lovely crust. *UPDATE* See sauce recipe below………

* I pressed mine a bit thinner then I was supposed to, so I formed it into a log and put in a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Since it was longer and thinner I baked it for only 1 hour. IF you do it in the loaf pan I am fairly certain you WILL need to bake it the full 1 hour and 15 minutes.

*I used ground pork. That is what I had. Near the end of the post look for an idea for what to do with the leftovers……..

Meatloaf  Cordon Blue

2 lb. ground beef (I used ground pork)

1 c. Italian Seasoned Bread crumbs

1 onion, chopped

2 eggs

1/8 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. salt

4 oz. thin sliced ham

4 oz. provolone cheese slices

Parmesan Cheese (my addition)

Italian seasoning (my addition)

Sauce (opt.):

1 – 8 oz cream cheese cubed

3/4 c. Parmesan cheese, shredded not powder

1/2 c. butter

1/2 c. milk

For sauce ~ In sauce pan stir together until smooth. I use abt 1/3 c to pour over the top of the load, then make 3/4 box fettucine noodles to use the rest of the sauce with!:)

Mix the ground beef, bread crumbs, onions, eggs, garlic and salt well. Put on a piece of WAX paper and pat to 1/2″ thick. Layer the ham on top, then the cheese. Roll up like a log and seal edges as best you can ~ THOUGH the cheesy crispyness that oozed out was SO tasty ~ and put in 9″ x 5″ loaf pan. Top with Parmesan cheese and seasoning. Bake at 350* for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

For sauce ~ In sauce pan mix the cream cheese, butter,  Parmesan cheese and milk  and stir together until smooth. Pour about 1/3 c.  over the top of the meatloaf (do this during the last 15 minutes of cooking), then toss the rest of the sauce with about 8 oz. of cooked fettucine.

Or serve with  Butter Baked Rice and ENJOY!

I was having a simply lovely conversation about rice the other day, yeah rice. Kathy shared a recipe with me and I thought it was be perfectly suited for this dish. It was a great pairing. This rice is easy to prepare and cooks right along with your main dish, which in my book earns it an A+.

              * At my best uneducated guess this dish serves 4. One batch fed my family just right, but if your family goes for a LOT of rice, you  may want to double.

              *This tip from Kathy was helpful for me. Use enough parsley so that you can see green throughout the whole dish. It was a very “pretty” rice…IF rice can be pretty.

               *If you do not have chicken broth go ahead and use 2 cubes if bouillon dissolved in 1 3/4 c. water. Worked great!

               * Don’t have your heat on high when you are cooking the rice with the butter. I did and one of my boys came to my and said “mom your spaghetti is jumping!” Well, yes, it was, the rice was popping RIGHT out of the pan. Oops.

Butter Baked Rice

2 tsp. salt

2 c. water

1 c. long grain rice

1/3 c. butter

dash of garlic salt

1 (13 3/4 oz.) can of chicken broth

parsley

Combine the salt and water. Bring to a boil and pour over rice. Let stand 30 minutes. Rinse with cold water. Melt the butter and add the rice. Cook till butter is all absorbed, this will take about 5 minutes. Put in greased casserole dish, 1-2 qt. dish would be fine. Top with garlic salt and broth. Cover and bake at 325* for 45 minutes. Add parsley and fluff (I love that word, such a good visual….sorry…) with fork. Bake, uncovered, for 10 more minutes. Serve. Enjoy.

Meatloaf Cordon Blue recipe from a friend via Facebook, origin unknown.

Rice recipe from Kathy.

Thank you to all favoritefamilyfoods e-mail followers. I HOPE you are enjoying, I am! I do not what you to be overwhelmed by the recipes coming 2-3 times a week right now. My intent is NOT to annoy you, my intent it to build a nice variety of recipes so that people have something to browse through. After 2-3 weeks my goal it to do 1-2 recipes a week…depending on if I make anything good! 🙂 Thanks for the great comments and please keep ’em coming!  Remember your comments are enjoyed and helpful to some who are looking to make something new. IF you made it and have a suggestion to make it easier or better, by all means comment! If you love it, dislike it, drool over it, gag on it, whatever!  I am not offended, in fact it may help me too! Ask questions, maybe you are wondering about a recipe you would like to make…whatever. I am NO expert IN FACT I botched dinner tonight….you will see that one in some other post! Hey and feel free to share this with others!  Anyways. Thanks to you all! ENJOY! Bobbi

Here is a way to use your leftover Meatloaf IF you used pork!  🙂 Slice it thin and put in on an egg sandwich!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

18 responses »

  1. Lovely pictures! I have not experimented much with rice – I need to mix it up a little! Uh oh, does that mean your taquitoes (sp?) didn’t turn out….I guess I will have to be patient to find out! Keep the recipes coming!

    • This rice is worth a try, so easy. It halves easily too I am sure! (I know you like that!) You will find out soon about the “botched” dinner!!!! 🙂 This coming from the QUEEN of impatient…….

  2. So, this is the recipe Pam….and after cooking, before serving I top with “white sauce” 1 – 8oz cream cheese cubed, 3/4 c parmesan cheese (can use pwdr, but the shredded is awesome!!) 1/2 c butter, 1/2 c milk. In sauce pan stir together until smooth. I use abt 1/3 c to pour over the top of the load, then make 3/4 box fettucini noodles to use the rest of the sauce with!:)

      • I made this meatloaf last night and made the sauce to go with it!!!! YUM!!! Thanks for the idea! (Though I only halved it, because I was not serving with noodles ~ I put some over the Meatloaf and then topped each slice with a bit more sauce.)

    • Just a question about the amount of milk you used. You wrote ” 1.2 cups “. Did you mean 1/2 cup or 1 1/2 cups?

      • Oh, yes, for the sauce ~ my friend told me about using that sauce and the last time I made the meatloaf I made the sauce as well and we ALL enjoyed it! I will update the recipe above with the sauce recipe. Thanks for the reminder. Sorry about the miss-type ~ it should be 1/2 c. milk. THANKS!!

  3. A meatloaf that my family LOVES! Second time I made it and they even had second helpings. I need to work on my “sealing”; the cheese was oozing out all over the place. But, we just scraped it up and topped our meat with it. Served with the Twice Baked Potato recipe which is also delish! Maybe a bit too much cheese for one meal-nah! Will have to try with the rice next time.

    • YEAH! Glad you and your family enjoy the meatloaf! 🙂 I know what you mean about “sealing” the loaf ~ but IF I am being honest, I actually really enjoy that crunchy maybe burned a little cheese that oozes out 😉 ~ but it is also REALLY good when the cheese stayed put IN the meatloaf!!! (As you can tell from my picture, mine oozes a little and stays in a little, good combo I think!) To much cheese ?!?!?! NEVER….. My excuse is that it is a dairy food and cheese IS good for you 😉 ~ but yeah, we usually have rice or noodles with this meatloaf.

      • So the above comment with the white sauce, was that a suggestion for covering the meat loaf, and if so, after the baking? Sounds like a great idea, and we love noodles over here so that would be a great way to serve this meat loaf!!

      • That was actually from my friend, I myself have not tried it BUT put in on my meal plan for THIS week cause it sounds good. She wanted some kinda sauce for the meatloaf and did not what the common red meatloaf sauce ~ so she tried this and her family REALLY enjoyed. I cannot WAIT to try it. I will update my blog with pictures when I make it. OH, sorry, to answer YOUR QUESTION…..put the white sauce on AFTER the meatloaf it cooked, when you are going to put it on the table to serve. Make sure the sauce is hot/warm. She also puts a dish of the sauce ON the table to serve over the noodles. Hope this helps you!! Let me know if you give it a go (and let me know IF you uncover the secret to keeping the cheese IN the meatloaf ;)!!)

  4. Sorry I never looked back…yes, I put the white sauce on AFTER cooking…drizzled it over the top and had a little extra for “dipping’, but didin’t put it on in the over. 🙂 Making it again for tomorrow!:)

    • You are welcome!!! THANKS for reading and commenting!!!! I prefer ground beef, that is what we usually have in the house ~ I have used ground pork because I had it, though I would reach for the ground beef quicker. 🙂 I like to use ground chicken and turkey as well in some recipes in place of the ground beef ~ though I have NOT tried it for this recipe. Hope that helps!

      • I will 😉 I have recently started baking the meal loaf in a loaf pan (when I halve it) ~ it holds together a hit better that way. Just a small hint. THANKS again!

      • I was just wondering if I could half the meatloaf. How long does it have to bake for half? Sorry for all the questions! 🙂

      • THAT is why we have a comment section! To ask questions!!! I so very enjoy that part of the blog! 🙂 THANKS for your questions, they may just help someone else out as well! I baked it for an hour. I like to ensure the inside is done. THANKS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

