Dessert Pizza

Standard

 

I LOVE pizza. No doubt my favorite food of ALL. I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are delicious “breakfast” pizzas, yummy appetizer pizzas for lunch and good ol’ PIZZA PIZZA for dinner. No need to worry about not getting your fruits and veggies CAUSE there is always the yummy veggie pizza and fruit pizza……..great snacks! I have yet to mention DESSERT pizza. I have made some and enjoyed ~ but this one knocked them nearly out of the water, they are still “in the water” and will appear once in a while as a special treat BUT this one was so so easy and so so good IT will be made often. Ever had the Pizza Hut apple dessert pizza? It is good. This is like it, though WAY better. Try it your next pizza night. Mine is EVERY friday. When is yours???  🙂

* Only one tip with this one! Don’t add the oil with the yeast and water. Did it on accident and my yeast did not foam….opps….BUT it still rose so nicely.

* Opps, one more. I baked mine right along with my “dinner” pizza and then let it sit and cool while we ate. It was just right and ready for us when we were done eating.

Dessert Pizza

Crust: 1 1/4 c. flour

1/2 c. warm water

1/2 tsp.yeast

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1/2 TB. oil

 Combine the flour, salt and sugar. Set aside. Combine the warm water and yeast, let set for 5 minutes to get all foamy. Add the oil. Add the yeast mixture to the flour mixture. Stir till combined. May  need to add a tsp. or 2 of water to be sure all the flour is mixed in. (I did not have to.) Cover and let rise till doubled, about 45 minutes. Dump onto the counter and roll into a ball ~ using more flour if needed. Roll to a 10-11″ circle. Brush a 12″  pizza pan with oil and place crust on the pan. Brush the top with more oil. Set aside to rise a bit while making the topping.

Topping: 5 TB. COLD butter

1/4 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. white sugar

2/3 c. oats (I used the quick cook kind)

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tart apple, peeled, cored and chopped (my addition)

about 1/4 c. flour, IF using the apple (my addition)

Mix the butter, sugars, oats and cinnamon with a fork or food processor. Add the apples and flour. Press onto the un-baked pizza crust. Bake in a pre-heated 425* oven for about 10-15 minutes.

Glaze: 2 c. powdered sugar

1 1/2 – 2 TB. milk

3/4 tsp. vanilla

Mix and drizzle over pizza. Let set about 20 minutes before eating. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from girlplusfood.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

17 responses »

  1. Looks yummy Bob!!!!I almost want to make it for sunday morning break fast –or to bring to mother ks for coffee!!! thank you !!!!!

    • I TOTALLY forgot to mention that this would be SIMPLY splendid for breakfast! Aaron got to the leftover piece before me saturday morning…..bummer (kids were also bummed!)….might make 2 next time so we can have it for breakfast too!! Apples and oatmeal……make it GREAT for breakfast in my rule book!

  2. My SIL Laurie DJ got me connected with your blog. This dessert pizza recipe looks delish! I can’t wait to try it. If you have a good homemade pizza recipe you wouldn’t mind sharing, I’d love to try it. I’ve tried several lately and none of them are that great. I cook my pizza on a stone but either the dough is too soft or it is too hard and crunchy. I need something inbetween. Thanks!

    • Glad the Laurie passed this on to you! The MORE the merrier!! 🙂 Yes, I actually have a few pizzas that I love. I will get to posting them, I promise!! I want to be able to take pics so it may be a week or two till I get to it, STAY TUNED!!!! 🙂 I’ve got family visiting this weekend and think we are doing “ordered” pizza as a treat….ELSE it WOULD be on the menu for the weekend!

    • Oh I am SIMPLY giddy that you commented!! THANK you and THANK you even more for this yummy recipe!! 🙂 I am new to the “blogging” world and was going to go back to your blog and tell you to check out my pictures with the dessert pizza made with apples…..you beat me to it by finding it!! THANKS! JUST a question, when I linked your recipe does it then somehow go to you so that you see it or did you just happen upon it? I would LOVE to hear your thoughts IF you end up trying this with apples!

      • Ok, so I have a widget on my blog from feejit. If you click on the “real time” text it will take you to a page that you can see easier who is coming to your blog and where they come from. I like to look at it sometimes, it makes me happy when people are stopping by. I checked it and noticed that someone had come to my blog from your web address (probably from the link) so I came to the address and decided it was you. I feel a bit like a weird internet stalker, but there ya go! And I will for sure let you know WHEN we try it with apples. Oh and I was probably just as giddy to find someone liked my recipe enough to blog about it. 🙂

      • Good to know there are other “foodies” out there who get giddy about silly stuff. I am looking forward to my blog growing and seeing where it goes and then being able to have people link back to mine MAYBE …..someday…..Meanwhile I am going to enjoy learning about other recipes from other blogs 🙂 I hope you didn’t mind the link back to your blog…….Being new to this I wasn’t sure IF I was supposed to ask permission, but since it was YOUR recipe I wanted/had/needed 🙂 to give the props to you! Thanks again 🙂

      • I love the link back. I am totally fine with the recipes from my blog being used. I think as a general rule you can do that as long as you link back to where you got it. There are some blogs I have come across that their copyright says something about not using anything from their blog so I haven’t. Just to be safe. I think photos from other blogs are kind of a no-no, unless you ask permission. (I am not really worried about anyone stealing mine at this point!) But I am also pretty new to food blogging so I am not completely sure that’s right, that’s just what I have been doing.

      • I will consider it a GREAT compliment if SOMEDAY SOMEONE links back to my blog! Thanks for your help, you did answer some questions I had! Thanks!

  3. Looks awesome Bobbi!! I love making dessert pizza, reminds me of Pizza Ranch!! I haven’t tried it with apples and oatmeal, but next time I make pizza, I will try your recipe. I like your blog!

    • A lot of people say it reminds them of Pizza Ranch! I hope someone who makes it can tell me IF it tastes like Pizza Ranch’s!! Thanks for reading and let me know how it is if you make it! 🙂

  4. Bobbi – I made this tonight and it is AMAZING!! I plan on visiting often, you have already posted many recipes I think I will try! Brad will eat almost anything, but I too have three boys who can tend to be a bit picky at times so this is great. I’m glad Maria posted this on facebook, I love to cook and bake too. Thanks!

    • Thanks Melissa, SO happy to have you reading…and flattered too!I hear you are an EXCELLENT cook. IT can be hard to cook for those picky kids, but I am bound and determined to “make” them be NOT picky, is the even possible?!?!!? All I make I serve to my kids, sometimes they eat a lot and tell me to “make this again!” and other times they can hardly get their 2 bites down! I am working on a “kid” recipe post, it may take some time to put together, but keep your eye out for it! Thanks so much for “pinning” a few of the recipes too, I am not a part of Pinetrest or Facebook ~ So I appreciate when people share things that way…. would LOVE to hear what else you try, IF anything :). We could probably talk for HOURS about boys!…….

      • I know what you mean about the “making” them not picky. We have the same thing at our house. We’re always trying to get them to try new things and half the time they tell us they don’t like it – even when it’s pretty evident they do. 🙂
        It seems like we have quite a bit in common! I think we probably could talk for a long time about boys, I figure God knows how much I like to feed people and I may as well have a house of men to feed (goodness knows I don’t want to think about my grocery budget though…). I’m sure I’ll be trying more recipes soon! Thanks!

      • I am smiling at your grocery comment! Isn’t that the truth! Scary to think of what they will be eating in 5-10 years, they already eat more then me at times! I like to think I am saving money by making breads, bagels, cookies, cake, etc. homeade…..though I may just be fooling myself. Oh well. It is fun and my kids love to “help”. 🙂 I feel Blessed to have my boys and DREAD the day when they grow old and leave and I don’t cook/bake for them all the time….oh! Let’s NOT talk about that!!………

  5. Pingback: Chicken-Taco Cornbread Pie « Kats’ Kitchen

Leave a Reply

