Orange Chicken and Rice

Standard

I am really enjoying Oriental, Chinese and/or Asian food lately. Something about a sweet/salty/sour sauce that  is so good, and SO YUMMY over rice. As a newly married couple my husband and I used to order Chinese once in a while and very  much enjoyed that, haven’t done it in a while ~ and honestly, really don’t feel that we need to when you can make recipes like this right in your own home…..cheaper and you get more and you know what EXACTLY is in it! 🙂 This recipe was shared by a friend, THANK you so much! The minute I read it I knew I HAD to make it and ~ bonus ~ I had EVERYTHING in the house for it! So made it almost immediately and so much enjoyed it that  I will be making it again and again and again……

AS always….my tips. 🙂

* To make your own self rising flour. Combine 2 c. all-purpose flour with 2 tsp. baking powder and 1 tsp. salt.

* I did not have enough oil to use my deep-fryer SO I heated about 1/2 ” of oil in my electric skillet and cooked each side for about 2-3 minutes, forgot to time it……..

* PLEASE NOTE ~ This sauce is the perfect amount to coat the chicken called for in the recipe IF your family is big sauce eaters (like it smothered in sauce or like to drizzle extra over the rice) you may want to double the sauce ingredients. If you want to add veggies or pineapple or anything in with the chicken you may then also want to double sauce as well.

* A friend of mine left some of the chicken “nuggets” PLAIN because her kids are not big sauce eaters ~ they LOVED it! She put the sauce on her’s and her husbands only…..EVERYONE was happy! 

Orange Chicken and Rice

Sauce: 1/4 c. orange juice

6 TB. brown sugar

2 TB. white sugar

2 TB. soy sauce

3 TB. vinegar

1 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 TB. water

1 TB. cornstarch

Mix the water and the cornstarch well, set aside. Combine all the rest of the sauce ingredients into a sauce pan and bring to a boil, add the cornstarch mixture and turn down a bit and simmer till the consistency of syrup. (This really did not take very long!) Remove from the heat.

Rice: 2 c. long grain rice

4 c. chicken broth

Bring broth to a boil. Add the rice and stir, cover and let simmer 15 minutes or until the liquid is mostly absorbed.

Chicken: 2 lb. chicken breasts, boneless skinless

2 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/4 tsp. paprika

2 c. self-rising flour

 Heat oil in deep fryer. Cut the chicken up to about 1″ cubes. Place in large bowl and add the eggs and seasonings. Place the flour in a large ziplock bag and toss to coat. Deep fry for about 3-4 minutes. Drain on paper towel. Place in bowl and toss with the Orange Sauce.  Serve over rice.   ENJOY!  

Recipe from familyfunshop.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

  1. wow, that looks and sounds really good! I will be trying that one also! Is that the yummy oriental noodle cabbage slaw salad with cilantro I see on the plate too! 🙂 YUM YUM!!

  2. Bobbi, Laurie recommended your blog to me. I’m loving it! So tonight I made this recipe… it was AMAZING! Kurt and I both loved it! I’ve always been a Chinese restaurant fan, but never really tried to make anything Asian on my own…. But this one was so easy, and didn’t call for anything “weird”! It’s a keeper for sure! 🙂

    • Thanks for reading! (and thanks Laurie for recommending!) Glad you liked the recipe, I too loved the easy ingredients ~ things you usually have in your house! ESPECIALLY fun to make something our husbands love too!!!

  3. I made this and it is amazing!! I’m a big fan of Chinese and this was perfect. My only question would be have you thought of baking the chicken rather than frying it? I don’t generally fry food at home (trust me…I eat plenty of it in restaurants though!) so I wondered what you thought about that…I surely don’t want to ruin the taste. 🙂

    • I had wondered the same thing! I do not fry food often, actually that was probably a 1st or 2nd for me. I think it would lose something if cooked in the oven, but would still be really really good. I LOVED the crispy crunch it had. I also did not cover it in oil, just 1/2″ or so in my electric skillet ~ then flipped then drained well, not sure if that was any better or worse for me…..health wise! I do make a Sweet & Sour Chicken recipe that is baked not fried. It is stellar too. I will get that in my menu planning in the next few weeks, snap some pics and get the recipe out to you! We love that one too…..

      • That would be great! I just love new recipes. Maybe I’ll try baking it once and see how it is…but I think it’s okay to have one recipe that you fry. Thanks!

      • Let me know how it goes if you end up baking it, I will try it too sometime and report back! I am OK with frying ONCE in a while too, certainly not making a HUGE habit of it!Thanks again for reading!! 🙂

      • The funny thing is last night (after I had posted this) we fried up some funnel cakes…so yep, while we don’t fry things often, sometimes they just taste too good not to! 🙂

      • That is really funny CAUSE I was remembering about my recent goal of making homemade donuts….yep, frying there too. Oh well, like you said “tastes too good not to!!!” Funnel cakes sound yummy! 🙂

      • Looks good, that is pretty much identical to the one I make that I was telling you about, some ingredients are different but same basic idea!! Thanks for thinking of me and sending it my way!! 🙂 Let me know if you try it….I will get to making my chicken “little fried little baked” recipe and get it posted!!

Leave a Reply

