Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes

Standard

My kids LOVE pancakes and really LOVE cinnamon rolls. So when I saw this recipe I knew they would love it and they did. I have made it a couple of times, each time learning something new. So I will give you my tips and hints, take ’em or leave ’em!

          * Please do not melt the butter. Please listen when the recipe says that it should be a “toothpaste” constancy. ELSE you will have a bubbly buttery sugary batter mess on your hands…..or should I say your griddle. Lesson learned……

          * Please  be sure to swirl your cinnamon yumminess not TOO near the edge of your pancake BECAUSE IF it gets to close and spills over your griddle WILL be a bubbly buttery sugary batter mess and you will just have to sit there and watch and smell the sugar burning and then soak it for a while, then scrub it a while….lesson learned.

          * I did not attempt the 3/4 c. batter, leading to a HUGE pancake. I am sure it would be yummy. I did 1/4 c. batter, which yielded 10 pancakes. Worked for us….

          * I do a batch and a half for my 4 boys and I, works out great. NO need to make more butter mixture though, that is just the right amount! You will need a bit more frosting, I just added a splash of milk and a bit more powdered sugar and it worked well.

Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

1 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. milk

1 TB. oil

1 egg

1/2 c. melted butter (See my note above….)

3/4 c. brown sugar

1 TB. cinnamon

Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl with a whisk. Add the milk, oil and eggs. Mix with the whisk JUST till combined, leaving some lumps.

Combine the butter, sugar and cinnamon. Mix well. You want this to be about the consistency of toothpaste. Put in a ziplock bag.

Heat griddle to 350*. Place about 3/4 c. batter onto hot buttered griddle. Snip the corner of the bag and squeeze a spiral of filling onto the pancake. (See picture above.) Watch for some bubbles to form, then flip and cook a few more minutes. Top with frosting.

4 TB. butter

2 oz. cream cheese, softened

3/4 c. powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

sprinkle of cinnamon (my addition)

Melt the butter and beat with the cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla. Drizzle over warm pancakes. ENJOY!  🙂

Recipe from recipegirl

I just wanted to share this touch of spring blessings and beauty.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. I saw these also on recipegirl and marked them for another day – thanks for the tips, will be good for when I go to make them!

    • You know what? IF I can help someone NOT make the same mistakes that I did, I am happy! I am a “tip” giver ~ I find it helpful when I am making other people’s recipes to follow their tips, so I like to do the same!

  2. Oh Bobbi!! I had that terrible burned sugary mess you warned about, what did I do wrong? They were a blackened mess. I know two things I did wrong, I put 2 eggs in the batter, for some reason I thought the recipe said two. And I snipped the corner of the cinnamon mixture a little too large i think, could those two mistakes caused such a mess? Help!

    • I guess my FIRST suggestion would be to use 1 egg ;). That you know already….Secondly, the size of the snip DOES matter. Just do a tiny snip in the corner ~ you can always cut it bigger….but cannot make it smaller. To big a swirl may cause it to overflow and cause such unlovely burniness. I thought of something I SHOULD have said in the actual post. This may help some. I usually fill the whole griddle with the pancakes ~ 8 or so. THEN go back to the first one and swirl them all. That way there are SOME bubbles forming and the cinnamon mixture has a bit of a pillow to rest in……and PLEASE do not get too close to the edge, this is very important! I HOPE this helped and that you will try again. My first time was a complete FAILURE, but so yum and so worth it!!

Leave a Reply

