Plain Bagels

Standard

I have always enjoyed bagels, as a kid I like them “burnt to a crisp” and ate bagels instead of sandwiches. As I got older I loved to go to the local bagel shops BUT those went out of business or moved ~ guess I should have bought more!!! Then my sister-in-law worked at Panera Bread and once again I got a taste of the good bakery bagels, that too ended! I didn’t think much of it till I saw these at Annie’s Eats and KNEW  I wanted to make them. My friend  and I made them with much success! You can see them here at  KatsKitchen. They however were a 2-day process and that is fine and dandy, BUT I knew I had this recipe from an old cookbook that came with my old bread machine  (sadly I cannot recall what kind it was). That came together much quicker! I encourage you to try these and let me know if you like them! Really…..they WERE easy! Here are some of my tips:

* In addition to the sugar in the boiling water, I also added about 1/4 c. of baking soda. This was not necessary, but gave them a “pretzelish” taste.

* I made mine into 16 bagels and not 12. That seems to be a good size for me. IF you make them smaller, bake a little less or they may get dark like mine, which really was not bad at all!

* I am looking forward to trying new varieties, this seems like a recipe you can mess with a LITTLE. I made wheat ones. I used 3 3/4 c. regular flour, 1 c. wheat flour, and 1/4 c. instant oats.  I am planning on making cinnamon raisin bagels soon. Let me know what you try and I will let you know what I try!  🙂

Plain Bagels

1 2/3 cups water, room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

2 tsp salt

5 cups bread flour

1 tablespoon active dry yeast

Remove the dough from the machine.  Punch down.  Divide the dough into 4 parts.  Divide each part into 3 pieces.  On lightly floured surface, shape each piece into a smooth ball.  Punch a hole in the center with a finger.  Pull dough gently to make a 1 to 2-inch hole.  While bagels are rising for 15-20 minutes, heat 2 quarts water and 2 tablespoons sugar to a low boil.  Place a few bagels at a time in the boiling water.  Simmer 2 minutes, turning once.  Remove with a slotted spoon.  Place on greased cookie sheet.  Brush tops with 1 slightly beaten egg white sprinkle with poppy or sesame seeds.  Bake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.  Remove from cookie sheet; cool.

Recipe from an owners manual from my old bread machine.  Enjoy. 🙂

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Welcome to the blog world Bobbi! Can’t wait to see what other recipes you ‘bring to the table’! I will give this bagel recipe a try soon – like you said, a LOT less work than Annie’s Eats recipe, I loved the cinnamon raisin ones from when we made them, so I may have to go with that combo.

  2. Cool! I LOOOVE bagels, but I haven’t really thought of making them myself. You make them seem so easy! I think I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

