Zucchini Brownies and/or Cake, anyone?!

Standard

While we are on the topic of zucchini, lets move on to zucchini bars! Oh, wait, we were NOT on that topic? Oh, well, now we are!!!  🙂 So let’s go back to talking about it! Zucchini is probably one of my favorite things about a garden. They grow like mad, produce these crazy big leaves and trailing stems and then there is the actual zucchini~ WHICH if you pick at the just right size, not to big and not too little, you can make this ~

Grilled Veggies

or this~

Zucchini Crisp

BUT when they grow too BIG, you know when they are hiding under a BIG leaf and you just plain miss it…….and they grow to be laughingly HUGE??  Well, those are GREAT for shredding. Why shred? For BREAD (ah! a rhyme!!!) or bars of course!  🙂 So. My self-given job was to find a great brownie recipe made from zucchini. Now the results!!

The first recipe was so very good, BUT more cake-like. A nice recipe to have if you want a zucchini cake (or cupcake perhaps??) recipe. Tho I was aiming for a brownie, not a cake, so I tried another recipe, this was for sure more brownie like. They both were a smashing success SO no more searching~ a brownie (+ cake) recipe my family enjoys has been found!

Wanna try them out for your family?

The first recipe is the “cake” like one. It is taller, fluffier and not at all dry.  The frosting for it is delicious, funny how chocolate chips and peanut butter make a frosting, but it does! We ate it warm (yum) and we ate it cold (yummy!)((Room temp was not fabulous in this hot humid weather)).  Or you can frost with a butter cream frosting instead, that is fabulous!

food 020

Zucchini Cake

1 c. soft butter
1 1/2 c. sugar
2 eggs
1/2 c. plain yogurt
1 tsp. vanilla
2 1/2 c. flour
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. shredded zucchini

Frosting~
2/3 c. chocolate chips
1/2 c. creamy peanut butter
(or frost with chocolate butter cream frosting instead)

Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the eggs, one at a time ~ beating well after each addition. Beat in the yogurt and the vanilla. Combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Add to the creamed mixture. Fold in the zucchini. Spread in a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake @ 350º for 30-40 minutes.

Melt the peanut butter and chocolate chips in a double boiler, stirring till smooth and melted. Spread over warm brownies.

ENJOY!
Recipe from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor, Vol. 2.

The second recipe is a bit denser, a bit flatter and not at all dry. More like a brownie!

Here is the brownie recipe ~ (I skip the nuts.) Enjoy!

food 019

Pardon the pictures, the brownies are cold in the shots. I will never be a food photographer……… taking pictures of my family is much more my style! 😉

(Other good ways to use up that really BIG zucchini!)~

Herb Stuffed Zucchini

food 1071

Pumpkin Zucchini Bread

food 224

Want some more uses for small zucchini???

Roasted Vegetable Lasagna (pardon the picture, I need to take a new one!)

Zucchini Fries

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE ZUCCHINI RECIPE OR WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE  WAY TO USE ZUCCHINI??

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Hi Bobbi, Hopefully you received the Kale Salad recipe. Question: Do you think that I could make the Zucchini Lasagna and freeze it before baking? Have you done that? Give those Boys a hug for us! Sue

    • YES!!! Thanks, it looks so good! I will be making it soon, thank you!!! I have not froze this lasagna. I should THINK it would work, tho it might be a bit more waterier ~ so maybe let it set a bit longer after baking? Let me know if you try it! Hugs all around! Thanks!!! 🙂

Leave a comment