Cucumber Salsa

Standard

Garden time is here!  Or should I say, gardens FULL of yummy produce have finally sprouted!! I, myself, have a brown thumb ~ as brown as soil. BUT there are a few people that I love, who have wonderful green thumbs and share fresh garden produce with me! Or a quick trip to the farm stand, even the grocery store has farm fresh produce right now! So it is right at  our fingertips!! Let’s enjoy it!!!

Cucumber, plain sliced cucumber, make my noise flare. You know, when you eat something you really are not keen of, your nose flares, right? Well, for me that is cucumber. Unless it is sliced and in a lovely vinegar sugar mixture, now that IS good. Or made into a pickle.  Or if it is in a salad and surrounded by other things, you don’t notice as much when your fork is full of lettuce and tomato and such.  Dipping it is ranch is good too, tho I will still forever reach for the carrots or cherry tomatoes on a veggie platter (taking a cuke or two, simply cause it is probably real good for me being a veggie and all ;)).

Anyways, when your garden is brimming with cucumber or you find that you have a lonely cucumber in your fridge needed to be used up, try this recipe! I hope you enjoy it as much as my family does. It does get watery after a day or two in the fridge, so don’t make tooo much at once. My family  eats nearly this whole batch and dinner, the leftovers can be a bit watery (from the cucumber draining) the next day, but still good.

~ Cut the cucumber up nice and small, then let set a few minutes to drain any excess liquid, pat dry with a paper towel. It also helps to scoop out the seeds, just using the outer shell.

~ Technically this is ment to be eaten with chips, which we do, but is also good “as is” ~ grab a fork and eat it like a salad!

~ Plum tomatoes work best for this recipe, as they are not quite as liquidy as other tomatoes, if you no not have plum (or Roma is good too) ~ then just take the seeds out of the tomatoes, then cut.

food 010

Crisp Cucumber Salsa

2 c. peeled,  chopped cucumber (remove seeds 1st)
1/2 c. chopped plum tomatoes
2 TB. fresh minced parsley (can also use dry, about 1/2 – 1 TB.)
1/4 c. chopped red onion
1 jalapeno, remove seeds and chop
1/2 c. minced cilantro
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 c. sour cream
1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp. lime juice
1/4 tsp. cumin powder
1/4 tsp. seasoned salt

In a large bowl, combine the cucumber, tomatoes, parsley, onion, jalapeno and garlic. Set aside. In a small bowl whisk together the sour cream, lemon juice, lime juice, cumin and seasoned salt. Pour over cucumber mixture and stir to coat. Chill at least 4 hours. Serve with tortilla chips.

ENJOY!!!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. This is delicious!!! we loved it!!! You could add dill weed for a little different spin , and serve it on or with pita bread chips…Thank you Bobbi ! I was so happy to see this recipe as I had lost the recipe for a sour cream based cucumber salad……

    • Good idea with the dill!! A whole different taste that way…..maybe leave out the cumin? Cilantro too?? hummm…or leave cilantro? Let me know if you try it a different way! Thanks for the idea! :) Super glad you enjoyed it!

  2. oh yeah, I will for sure be making this recipe!! But the part about the one lone cuke in the fridge made me smile cuz we never have a lone cuke more like a shelf full!! Thanks for this recipe and be prepared for some cukes heading your way!!! :) oh and welcome back :)

    • I fixed it, I had updated it a long time ago in the “about” page ~ tho did not know that there was an “about bobbi” section on each post!!! Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Was seriously laughing as I was reading your post. I happen to love eating cucs plain-no nose flaring here! Anyway, this salsa is a fabulous idea and delicious. And I could certainly eat it without the chips, and probably should b/c I don’t know when to stop :)

Leave a Reply

