Butterflake Herb Bread

Standard

I am sorry I have not been stellar at updating this blog with recipes lately. This doesn’t mean that I have not been cooking/baking lately ~ it just means that I have been pretty pathetic lately in the kitchen. Some examples of my patheticness…..

* Forgetting to take pictures of our favorite things before it all gets eaten.
* Getting the camara out to TAKE a picture, only to realize that there are no batteries to be had.
* Failing at cake baking 4 times, since apparently, easy directions can be hard to follow. :/
* Doubling the milk and doubling none of the other ingredients (major MAJOR fail, do not do) for our favorite pancakes. Then, once that milk problem was fixed…..underbaking those same said pancakes. Not good.
* Adding too much salt to one of our favorite salads……it was like a salt lick.  Bummer. BIG bummer.
* I have tried my hand at creating new recipes. Mostly not good. Which is why “the tried and true” recipes are the bestest, I find my original recipes tend to begin and END with me.

Just to name a few kitchen blunders. I sure hope I am not the ONLY one this happens to!!!!

BUT, all that aside my family really REALLY enjoying this bread. A friend shared this recipe and it should be shared with you as well!!! Hope you enjoy!!!!

The ingredients listed are the original, my changes are in parenthesis.
~ Butter is up in price :( and few sticks are in my fridge, that is why I used only 1/4 c. in the filling. It was plenty I thought. If you are a huge butter on bread fan then add the full 1/2 c. ~ however, the 1/4 c. was fine for us, so I will stick with that!
~ Pardon my random flour combination……..when baking bread, I like to use some (if not all) bread flour and it is always nice to get some wheat in there too!!! If you don’t have bread or wheat flour, all-purpose flour will be JUST FINE!!!!
~ I just realized NOW as I am typing this up that there was supposed to be  potato flour or mashed potatoes in this bread. Well, as noted above, easy directions can be hard to follow :/ and I skipped that (on accident) and it was fine, just fine. So if you don’t have mashed potatoes or potato flour, it should not be a problem to skip it!

On to the recipe you should really try!!! (Some pictures too!!)

Folded buttery dough all lined up. ↓

food 1127

Risen dough. ↓

food 1128

Baked yummy bread. ↓

food 1129

See the butter?!?!? Yum….. ↓

food 1131

Butterflake Herb Bread 

1 c. warm milk
1/4 c. butter, soft
3 TB. sugar
2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
2 tsp. yeast
4 1/4 c. flour (1/2 c. wheat flour, 1 1/2 c. bread flour, 2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour)
2 TB. potato flour or 1 TB. mashed potatoes (skipped)

Layer in bread machine and set to dough cycle. (If you do not have a bread machine, you may certainly mix/knead the dough by hand!)  Meanwhile, prepare the herby butter filling.

Butter Herb Filling  

1/2 c. butter, soft (1/4 c.)
1/2 tsp. caraway or chopped fennel seed (skipped)
1/2 tsp. basil
1 tsp. onion powder (3/4 tsp.)
1/4 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cayenne
1 garlic clove, minced (3/4 tsp. garlic powder)

Mix well. Set aside.

Grease a 9″ x 5″ bread pan. Set aside

When the dough is complete, roll to about a 1/2″ thick rectangle. Spread the herbed butter all over and cut (with a pizza cutter) into squares (or shaped that resemble squares).  Take your squarish shapes and fold in half, line up in bread pan (folded part down).

Cover with greased plastic wrap and let rise 20-30 minutes, till doubled. Take off plastic wrap and bake @ 350° for 25-35 minutes.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe found on Kats’ Kitchen, original from King Arthur Flour.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Yes, you will HAVE to try!! :) And, yes, it really was not difficult at all!!! Let me know if you do get around to trying it!!! :) It will be a bread I make often, it was nice not to have to pass around the butter! ;)

Leave a Reply

