Chicken Stromboli

Standard

Stromboli  SCREAMS weekend to me! So it is high time I share this favorite dinner of ours! I hope you guys enjoy! Stromboli’s (actually I usually call them Calzone’s) are a hoot, cause you can really add whatever you want to make it your family favorite. What do you put on your Stromboli/Calzone??!?!?!

This kind of dinner is a GREAT way to use leftover meat up from the week (the Stromboli below is actually made with turkey!). We enjoy it with leftover grilled chicken, so grill a few more up next time you grill! HA!! When you can un-bury your grill from under the snow!!! :)

food 1101This is how I roll mine up, it keep the filling from oozing out of the sides. ↑

food 1103Chicken Stromboli

1 loaf frozen bread dough (or favorite bread or pizza dough)
2-3 c. cooked, cut up, chicken
1/2 a red pepper, chopped
1/4 c. chopped onion
2-3 c. mozzarella cheese
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 tsp. pepper
olive oil, garlic, Italian seasoning, Parmesan cheese (for top, opt.)
1 jar of Alfredo sauce

Thaw bread dough (or prepare, if making homemade). Roll into a large rectangle (you can make one or two, I usually do one). Layer the chicken, vegetable, cheese and spices. Roll up (similar to cinnamon rolls) and seal the edges and sides well, so no yummy cheese oozes out.

Place on a greased baking sheet. Brush with olive oil, and top with garlic, Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese, if you want to.  Bake @ 350° for 35-40 minutes. Let set about 10 minutes before serving. Serve with warmed Alfredo sauce for dipping.

ENJOY!!!

Recipe from Tasteful Traditions, Trinity PRC Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Stomboli a family favorite around here, too! So thought it fitting to try the chicken version tonight and the kids all liked! They probably still like the sausage, pepperoni, canadian bacon best with red sauce. I do whatever with stromboli-usually always sausage and then either ham/canadian bacon or pepperoni with a mix of cheddar and mozzarella. I actually added some crumbled bacon to the chicken tonight and liked the results :)

Leave a Reply

