Snickers Crunch Bars

Standard

food 1120

This bar and I go waayyyy  back. It is one of the first recipes I remember making out of my favorite cookbook. They are not a “quick whip together” bar, they take time. Each layer has to be melted completely (can take time) or boiled a bit (that can take time).  Each layer HAS to set, chill completely. SO make these on a day you can happily spend time in your kitchen.

Over time I have changed some things to these bars, I think I can actually STOP changing things. The keeper Snicker Bar has been found.

Some tips. Some lessons to be learned from me to you.
~ Line pan with foil and then grease or butter the foil, not too heavily, just a bit. It makes it MUCH easier to lift out and cut bars up. BUT BE FOR-WARNED. The caramel sticks like mad to the foil (on the edges). SO be SURE that there is no foil lingering in the caramel. Your cavities will thank you. (Anyone else ever bit into foil? The opposite of pleasant.)

~ Do not boil the nougat layer on high. IT WILL BURN. YOU WILL NEED TO START OVER. Take your time, bring it up to a nice boil, slowly. Stir it as often as you are able, while it is boiling.

~ Technically you can add peanuts instead of the pecans. I just don’t enjoy peanuts in chocolate.  Of course I can eat it. But not my fav. So if peanuts and chocolate are YOUR thing, by all means, skip the pecans and use peanuts. Being true to the real Snicker bar.

~ The recipe Rice Krispie idea came from another one of our favorite bars, one I will share…sometime!

Here we go!!

Snickers Crunch Bars
FIRST LAYER~
1 c. chocolate chips (semi-sweet)
1/2 c. peanut butter
1/4 c. butterscotch chips
1 c. Rice Krispies
SECOND LAYER~
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. half & half
1/2 c. peanut butter
7 oz. container of marshmallow fluff
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. chopped pecans (toasted)
sprinkle of coarse salt
THIRD LAYER~
40 caramels, unwrapped
3 TB. water
FORTH LAYER~
1 c. chocolate chips (semi-sweet)
1/2 c. peanut butter
1/4 c. butterscotch chips

Line a 9″ x 13″ pan with foil and grease, lightly. Set aside.

FIRST LAYER. Melt the ingredients (all but Rice Krispies), in a double boiler or microwave (stirring over 30 – 60 seconds), till smooth. Add the Rice Krispies. Spread in prepared pan. Put in fridge to set.

SECOND LAYER. Bring the sugar, butter and half & half to boil. Boil for 5 minutes, stirring. Add the peanut butter, marshmallow fluff and vanilla. Stir till smooth.  Spread over first layer. Top with chopped roasted pecans. (To roast ~ put on pan and bake @ 350º for about 10 minutes, till the pecans are lightly browned and smell nice and nutty.) Sprinkle with a coarse salt ~ not to much just enough to give it that salty sweetness that is oh so good. Put pan in fridge to set.

THIRD LAYER. Melt the caramels and water in a double boiler, stir till smooth. Pour evenly over the pecan layer.  Chill to set.

FORTH LAYER. Melt together (same as first layer) and spread over caramel layer. Chill.

When the bars as cold, lift out of pan (convenient because of the foil used) and cut into bars. Sometimes it is helpful to partially freeze, makes for easier cutting ~ however, fully frozen makes it a bit harder to cut. Store in fridge.

ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor Cookbook ~ 1st Edition.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

