Snow Ice Cream II & Brownie Batter Dip

Standard

So when you are on snow day #2!!!! :) and your windows look like this…..

food 1118

WHAT ELSE CAN YOU DO but make Snow Ice Cream??!?!!? Well, perhaps you remember LAST years adventures in Snow Ice Cream Making……. This year we took a simpler route. My sister-in-law told me about this and it took EVERYTHING in me NOT to make it at 9:30 last night. I was tough. I waiting till after breakfast this morning. (Kids could help eat and make then!!) We all so very  much enjoyed it.

food 1115

The best part it is is that you probably have ALL the ingredients in your house!! Just wait for a fresh snow fall and WAALLLAAAA Snow Ice Cream!!! Enjoy!!!! (We sure did! Kids (& I) voted this batch EVEN better than last years!!!!)

Grab the recipe here!! (And let me know if you try it!!!)

I am a snacker.   My kids are snackers. Sometimes it is a challenge to come up with new and unique snacks ~ something fun, you know? I saw this recipe from Chef in Training and I knew I must try it! I mean, batter (and dough) is like my favorite thing. I tell myself NOT TO EAT it, there are eggs in it. Don’t do it. Don’t. But I ALWAYS do. I cannot help it. So, something that is called “Brownie Batter” seemed like a good choice for me  them to snack on.

food 1114

It was really good, tho not really brownie batterish, more like brownie puddingish. Anywho, we dipped graham crackers in and we all enjoyed it! It stays good in the fridge for 3-4 days too!!! Happy Snacking!!!

Brownie Batter Dip  

18. 4 oz. box of brownie mix, dry
2 c. PLAIN yogurt (low-fat or fat-free)
8 oz. low-fat cool whip, thawed
mini chocolate chips, for top, opt.

Mix brownie mix and yogurt, fold in thawed Cool Whip. Top with chocolate chips and use graham crackers as dippers! ENJOY!!!

Recipe adapted from Chef in Training.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

14 responses »

  1. I went to the link for the recipe and there were no amounts listed , just the ingredients–were thy there and page wax faulty??? the brownie batter dip looks real good too!

  2. Bobbi, this ice cream really is made with snow?! it looks cute….I would maybe put a little brownie batter dip over my ice cream :)

  3. Just made the snow ice cream for an afternoon snack! I used heavy cream instead of milk, (had some that needed to go before it spoiled). Soooo delish! But watch out for the brain freeze!

    • Brain Freeze for sure!!!!! :) Probably cause it is so so so very cold outside were that there snow came from!! HA!! SO glad you tried it and enjoyed it! I was hoping someone would give it a go!!! Heavy whipping cream probably made it so much richer and more icecreamer….I would have tried that IF I had ANY!!!! :)

  4. The snow ice cream was an adventure! The kids loved racing outside and gathering snow for me while I prepared the rest of the recipe. Need to attempt again; I don’t think I stirred enough, tasted more like snow than anything else. So I mixed the remaining mixture later and then seemed much better and more of an ice cream flavor. Sprinkles and mini chips to top it off!

    • YEP! Adventure!! For sure!! Fun to do things like that with the kids! I should have said that it didn’t really have “ice cream” consistancy, but more like a “sherbet” consistancy. A friend of mine just made it with heavy whipping cream, that probably would make it more ice creamy!!! :) So glad you tried it!

  5. I was hoping you’d post the snow ice cream recipe! Have to try it still, as well as the Brownie Batter Dip. I’d feel more grown up making it this way, as opposed to my usual go to–JUST making brownie batter and eating it til I get a stomach ache :)

    • Glad you are a batter eater TOO and that I am NOT alone in that!!! As I said, it is not EXACTLY like batter……..but kids and I really really enjoyed it!!!! :)

  6. The Snickers bars were really good–and it really only takes a few minutes between layers–I was able to whip it up fairly quickly!

Leave a Reply

