Spicy Ritz Cracker Snacks, Cranberry Walnut Bagels & Our FAVORITE Snack (Straight from the Store!!!)

Standard

food 1119

Need an appetizer or snack for a party this Christmas? These Ritz Cracker Snacks might just fit the bill.

* Adjust the red pepper flakes to YOUR preferred heat level. I used the whole 1 TB. as we enjoy heat. BUT if you are unsure as to what your family would like, then start with 1/2 TB. (or less)~ you will still get a kick from that.

* The shaking part sounds easy, and, well ~ it is. BUT the part that is tricky is that the cheese and red pepper flakes clump together. No problem, if you find a Ritz with extra cheese chunks on it, then just spread it onto another less dressed cracker.

Spicy Ritz Crackers Snacks

1 stick of butter, melted
1 env. dry Ranch seasoning mix
1/4 c. fresh grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 TB – 1 TB. red pepper flakes
1 tsp. garlic powder
about 75 Ritz crackers (which is about 3 sleeves)

Mix the butter, seasoning mix, Parmesan cheese, red pepper flakes and garlic powder. Toss with the Ritz crackers. Place on a 10″ x 15″ baking sheet (with sides). Spread around any Parmesan cheese chunks you may see. Bake @ 300º for 15 minutes, stir/flip 1 time. Allow to cool completely. Serve.

I saw this ↑ recipe on Pinterest.

food 1125

The other day in the store I saw a display of Cranberry English Muffins. I had them in my cart, of course. THEN I saw the price. Over $3 for 6 English Muffins?!?!!? I get that they are dressed for the holidays, but really? I put them back. A few days later when making bagels, I remembered those pretty little cranberry bedazzled English Muffins and thought, if they can do it….so can I! So, in went chopped walnuts and Craisins to the bagel dough. Really good.

* If using a bread machine, add the coarsely chopped walnuts and Craisins (a handful of each) to the bread machine JUST BEFORE the last kneading cycle. Your machine SHOULD beep to let you know when this is. IF added to early the Craisins and walnuts will just be chopped to smithereens.

* I was doing half plain and half holiday jazzy, so when the dough cycle was done, I split the dough in 2 and kneaded in the walnuts and Craisins to half the dough. That worked really well too!

Cranberry Walnut Bagels

The recipe is easy. Just follow this recipe, adding in a good handful (or two! ;) your preference of course) of Craisins and coarsely chopped walnuts. Add them JUST before the final knead, your bread machine will beep with this will happen (usually about 25-30 minutes in.) OR *my preference* knead the goodies into the dough when the entire dough cycle is complete.

Our favorite snack right now…..

food 1126

do your kids enjoy these as well??? No seeds!! Easy to peel!! DOUBLE high fives!!! :) (There are also the equally yummy “Halos”.)

PS ~ I haven’t heard from many of you in a while!!! How was everyone’s Thanksgiving?? Can you tell us about your favorite dish? Was it a classic or a new-fangeled dish you tried for the first time? My favorite, as always, stuffing. Yum.  (AND the sweet potatoes!!)

4 responses »

  1. thanks for posting those yummy cracker Bobbi! and the bagels look really good….I NEED to be brave and make bagels. And I bought 2 bags of halos after you were telling me about them. THANKS :)

  2. My kids love cuties! I wish they were available all year round. We had a great Thanksgiving. I agree with you…sweet potatoes with the pecan topping is my favorite! Have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

