Crunchables (Croutons)

Standard

Aldi Special Buys for the Week of
January 9 ~ January 15, 2013.

(Not a complete listing, just some items that caught my eye. Check out the full ad here.)

* 4 lb. bag of Navel Oranges is $1.99.  A 3 lb. bag of Clementines is $2.99. Grapefruits are 49¢ each.

* A 6 oz. package of Blueberries is $1.49. A 6 oz. package of Blackberries is 99¢.

* A Fresh Pork Sirloin Roast is $1.99 per lb.

* Condensed Tomato Soup is 49¢ for a 10.75 oz. can. Oyster Crackers are 89¢.

* An 8 oz. pkg. of Deli Sliced Cheese (select varieties) is $1.99.

* The ad is FULL of Organic items. Be sure to check it out if you prefer to use organic foods. I am not very familiar with them. If someone often used organic,  then maybe  can tell us what you try and if you liked it?? :)  The ad says these are Special Items, meaning they might not be around for a long time. So stock up if you use Organic Foods! (Though in the same breath the ad DOES say “Introducing Our New Exclusive Line of Simply Nature All Natural Food” ~ so that leaves me to wonder IF this will be a constant Aldi line (like the Fit & Active)?)

Now for today’s recipe. It actually does not use an Aldi item, per say, BUT you can make it using Aldi items!  Last week I shared a recipe for French Bread, I usually do the full batch leaving me with SOME leftovers perhaps. I wanted to share some ways I use my leftover bread up! I showed you a sandwich the other day and now how about another fun, easy recipe??? Croutons!!

food 288

This is another recipe with a fun story, love those. I grew up eating these, so I was used to them and KNEW just how good they were. When I was younger we had our neighbors over for dinner and one of the girls said “Can you pass me the crunchables??” We all just looked at her, till we figured out she ment the croutons. The name stuck, I now prefer to call them “Crunchables”. She was not only putting them on her salad but also popping them in her mouth……they are that good. Good enough to snack on. (I have been known to make myself a bowl of Crunchables for a snack. Yum.) IT has been a while since I have made them…. looks like I need to get baking some!

Some hints about Crunchables:

* I save all my bread ends or crusts or leftover bread and put it in a baggie in the freezer, when the baggie is full…..time to make some Croutons!!!

* Cooking time varies EVERY time, sometimes they seem to bake quickly, sometimes they seem to bake for a long time!! Maybe it depends on the thickness of your bread….. just use the suggesting baking time as a guideline, I actually prefer them darker!! Just my opinion.

* Add more or less of the spices, as your family prefers, I actually don’t measure (sorry) … I just dump in the spices giving it a unique flavor EVERY time!

* I usually leave the bread I plan on using out in an open bag on the counter overnight, it just dries it out a bit.  That is what I am referring to when I say “dry” bread.

Crunchables (Croutons) 

5 slices of “dry” bread
1/2 stick of butter (melted) (can use margarine too)
pepper
salt
garlic powder
onion powder
oregano

Cube the bread, place on a cookie sheet (with sides). Pour the melted butter over and toss to coat. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and oregano. (IF you are unsure as to where to start when adding the spices, I would suggest 1/4 tsp. of each to start. I go heavier, but that is a good “testing” point.) Toss well.

Bake @ 350° 8-10 minutes. (Stir one or two times.) May need to bake longer, in fact at times I have had to cook for 20 minutes. Just check and stir. You want  them to be browned and crunchy.

I hope you enjoy!!

About Bobbi

I have been married to my wonderful husband for almost 10 years. I am a mom to four boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more "favorite family foods".

4 responses »

  1. These are a real favorite at our house, they even make a nice snack, lately I have been using olive oil instead of marg. or butter just for health sake, It is very good too!

  2. what a great idea to freeze bread ends and leftover French bread for this!! I have a bowl on top of my fridge and I literally toss the stale and leftover bread in it , and it gets hard and a whir it in the food processor to make crumbs. But I have way more bread then I need for crumbs !!!!I am real excited about this recipe …this is epic!

Leave a Reply

