Chex Mix Lemon Buddies

Standard

One of my fravrite favorite parts of this blog is the interaction, the comments, questions, requests. This recipe came about from a request from a friend looking for snacks for her kids. I am CONSTANTLY enjoying making snacks for my kids, though we have probably all seen them already ~ puppy chow, original chex mix, oyster cracker mix, and sweet snack mixes. So I wanted to find something “new” ~ well, it WAS new to me, not sure about you! Hope you enjoy it AND try it! Thanks for your requests, just know that it does take me some time to get to them….you know……

I love to have special snacks for my kids, things they enjoy and LOVE to help me make. This was no exception, they were eating it BEFORE it was cooled. LOVE it cause it is a no cook mix! Isn’t lemon such a lovely fresh spring treat? A friend of mine’s family has some diet restrictions, this recipe jumped out to me as one that MIGHT work for her family….. not 100% sure though. I think of my friends/family often during cooking, when I am using a recipe given to me from them or things I think someone in particular MIGHT enjoy. It is fun….I know….

* This is how I did it. (correction. How I WILL do it next time…..) I put the chex into a bowl, poured over the COOLED!! melty yumminess and stirred, THEN put it in a paper garbage bag and gave it a good shake or 2. Let it set  1-2 minutes or so, THEN added the powdered sugar. (Else the powdered sugar got absorbed and I just had to add more anyway.) Give it a good shake shake shake and then pour it out onto the wax paper to set up nicely. The COOLEDish mixture is better because IF it is too hot it will absorb into Chex and become soggy….

* I used the zest from 2 lemons. Then just juiced them both and put the rest in the fridge to put on apples or something.

* I also used Almond Bark, I believe I used 6 cubes. It is just what I prefer, the vanilla chips would be just fine though too!

* Update. AFTER talking to a friend who had the same problem I had with the stale chex squares, we decided that the problem was that there was too much coating on each chex square…which really isn’t a bad problem to have! BUT they tend to then get stale tasting, the chex’s with LESS lemony goodness were crispy still the next day! So take note and add a few extra cups of chex!! ( I changed it in the recipe from 9 c. to 12-13 c.)

Chex Mix Lemon Buddies
12-13c. Chex cereal, rice or corn flavors
1 1/2 c. vanilla baking chips
1/4 c. butter
4 tsp. lemon peel
2 TB. lemon juice
2 c. powdered sugar
Put cereal in a large bowl and set aside. Put the vanilla chips, butter, lemon peel, and lemon juice in a microwave safe bowl. Micro for 30 seconds, stir and repeat till nice and smooth. Pour over cereal and mix well. Put in a 2-gallon ziplock bag and add the powdered sugar, seal and shake. Spread on wax paper to cool. ENJOY!!

Recipe from Chex.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. I want this right now!! This looks and sounds so yummy, my mouth is watering! Save me some! is that possible? And by the way does that precious hand belong to James?:)

    • Yep, the little/big guy stuck his mitt in the shot JUST as I was taking it….too good to keep your hands out of I guess! 🙂 I’ll TRY to save you some….It is a nice refreshing snack.

Leave a comment